Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Your use of SH on sytems with TXVs???

Curious to know if any of you use superheat in any manner when diagnosing an HVAC? I hear more and more techs using SH on sytems with TXVs contrary to all the books and charts that state SH to be used on fixed and SC on TXVs.

Is there a chart/table out there that sates target SH for a TXV????

I am new to this trade and it has gotten very confusing - evryone seems to have many different answers to the same question. I know you cant have both target SC and target SH on the same system at same time. Target SH on a fixed will not be the same on a txv system.

Ona side note - other than some commercial units - are there many fixed residential systems out there????

If its TXV then set the charge using subcooling. Monitor the superheat to evaluate for proper operation. Under normal conditions a proper operating system would run 8-15 superheat... however some txvs are adjustable. You need to monitor both to know what's going on.

Alot of residential stuff is fixed orifice.

Sent from my ERIS using Tapatalk 2

Quote Originally Posted by jdblack View Post
    If its TXV then set the charge using subcooling. Monitor the superheat to evaluate for proper operation. Under normal conditions a proper operating system would run 8-15 superheat... however some txvs are adjustable. You need to monitor both to know what's going on.

Alot of residential stuff is fixed orifice.

Sent from my ERIS using Tapatalk 2

To get the full picture, you've got to measure both SH and SC, along with a few other things.

Don't forget the indoor temperature split per the %Rh
    luck dan

To expand on JP's post... The roll of a txv is to maintain a fairly constant superheat. Charge by SC but check the SH to make sure the txv is operating correctly. If it's not then you get to find out why,start with air flow.

always check sh and sc, regardless of metering device, otherwise not getting a full picture of what's going on.