Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 50
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    818

    JCI/Metasys System N2

    I am getting ready to obtain a building that has a JCI/metasys N2 system. I was wondering what all does my company need to manage this job? There are some current programming issues that JCI cannot get resolved that somehow we are going to need to get resolved. What software do we need to reprogram certain sequences for the AHUs? What all can the end user software do? Is it locked down pretty tight?

    Thanks!
    J. King

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,223
    Contact your local Automated Logic dealer and put in a front end you can maintain yourself.

    http://www.automatedlogic.com/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Posts
    2,338
    And your automated logic front end is going to be able to program JCI N2 devices? I am very interested in how you will do that I may be interested in using the product...
    UA Local 141

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Posts
    2,338
    Quote Originally Posted by apprentice3 View Post
    I am getting ready to obtain a building that has a JCI/metasys N2 system. I was wondering what all does my company need to manage this job? There are some current programming issues that JCI cannot get resolved that somehow we are going to need to get resolved. What software do we need to reprogram certain sequences for the AHUs? What all can the end user software do? Is it locked down pretty tight?

    Thanks!
    Need to be more specific abou the field devices. DX9100 uses GX9100 to program them, UNT, VAV, VMA etc use HVACpro to porgram them,
    UA Local 141

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    North Carolina Piedmont Area
    Posts
    452
    How old is this system? Is there a front end in place or will you be connecting to a Facilitator or N30 supervisory type controller. There are times when you will connect directly to each controller through the use of a interface.
    Such as:
    AS-CVTPRO300-1 and AS-CVTPRO400-1
    Zone Bus/N2 Bus Interface

    For additional information on CVTPRO Converter compatibility with computers, operating systems, software, controllers and
    tools, refer to the AS-CVTPRO300-1 and AS-CVTPRO400-1 Zone Bus/N2 Bus Interface Converters Installation Instructions
    (Part No. 24-10158-0) and Auxiliary GearTechnical Bulletin (LIT-6363080).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    North Carolina Piedmont Area
    Posts
    452

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    North Carolina Piedmont Area
    Posts
    452
    Check this out for auxiliary gear

    6363080 rev.PDF

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    818
    Quote Originally Posted by alcomech View Post
    Check this out for auxiliary gear

    6363080 rev.PDF
    Thanks everyone.. I will be going back to the job this week. I will get some information off of the controllers. This is the one system that I have not ran into often. So I do not know all of the controls and terminolgy yet. So is it possible for a controls company not linked to JCI to get the necessary software to program these jobs?

    By reading the attached manual it seems that I may have to get a converter. What software do I need to use with that converter? HvacPro? Where can I get these JCI tools/Software?
    J. King

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    524
    All I've ever done with these systems is connect with hyperterminal through the N30 to manage settings, check sensors, etc. I wouldn't mind knowing how to fix program issues on the UNT controllers.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Posts
    2,338
    Try ths S Squared USB N2 bus adapter You will be surprised how many JCI personnel use the s squared box over the cvt 300...
    You will have to find the MTools Software from somewere. I can bet you could try Ebay or even some of the online hvac suppliers...
    UA Local 141

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,463
    I picked up my cvt on gov deals ( government auction site). I've also seen them on ebay.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    818
    I will have a controller list by tomorrow, but I was wondering if this M-tools software would cover most of the controllers on the market? It says the M-tools software comes with a computer based training program. How good is that? As far as converters go will this converter (see the attached web link) communicate to most of the JCI controllers out there?

    http://www.s2innovations.com/s2usb485-interface
    J. King

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Posts
    2,338
    Yes that box will communicate across the n2 bus to N2 devices. We are more interested in the N2 device list to help you with your questions about programming the n2 devices. Spend the 275 and buy the s2 box...
    UA Local 141

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event