Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hmm

I am 35 yrs old and thinking of going into the buisness... Considering HVAC/R certification course.... Can anyone give me some pointers? I really want to know the ups and downs and is it worth it? I want a career that will be worth it. What's is the least I shoud make starting out as a cert. HVAC/R?

have you ever done this work before????????????

I was self employed and I have installed many a/c units...But for the last couple of years I have been a service tech and work on small projects. (coffee machines, water filtrations systems)

Ben there..Done that......The next time...I will stick my manly hood in a salad shooter, It won't hurt as much.
    Refrigeration...Finding the Wright Wrench to pound in the correct..Screw

so, would you say this is not a wise career move on my part?

Originally posted by smboyte
    I am 35 yrs old and thinking of going into the buisness... Considering HVAC/R certification course.... Can anyone give me some pointers? I really want to know the ups and downs and is it worth it? I want a career that will be worth it. What's is the least I shoud make starting out as a cert. HVAC/R?
    Like any other career, this job has its ups and downs.

On the up side, you are able repair disabled equipment - that alone is rewarding. There will always be a need for service technicians, so this industry offers job security. The pay is above average so you can make a comfortable living if you choose to. Typically the company you work for supplies a company vehicle for your use to and from work.

The down side includes long hours away from your family during the heat of the summer and dead of winter. You will most likely be "on-call" which means you will have to give up your personal life during that time. Frustration and stress can get to you if you let it - not every service call is slam dunk. Long hours, and hard physical labor tends to adversely affect ones body.