Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 24 of 24
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seattle WA
    Posts
    1,225
    Quote Originally Posted by SoFlaDave View Post
    If its a microchannel condenser the charge will be very light for even the shortest runs and in general will hold almost 20% less than a comparable tube/fin system when fully charged.
    Goodman doesn't use Microchannel, but on their AC's they use a 5mm coil. Both are critical charge units (I think the 5mm is a bit more forgiving.) I'm putting my money on overcharge with a side of non-condensables.
    America; first we fight for our freedom,
    then we make laws to take it away.

    -Alfred E Newman

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Palmyra, Missouri, United States
    Posts
    224
    Quote Originally Posted by LibertyTree View Post
    Goodman doesn't use Microchannel, but on their AC's they use a 5mm coil. Both are critical charge units (I think the 5mm is a bit more forgiving.) I'm putting my money on overcharge with a side of non-condensables.
    non condensibles.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Lancaster, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    884
    Sounds like non-connies also.
    KX500......the original big green meanie

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Spud Country
    Posts
    326
    I would say overcharged..
    I am an experienced, caring, trusted, service provider who solves my customers issues beyond there expectations by educating them and guiding them with value-building options to make excellent buying decisions while building security and wealth for my company, myself and my family.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    10
    Sounds like noncondensables. Recover the system, pull a good vacuum, and recharge. Your boss should be smacked for telling to not do anything unless the customer says something about the noise!

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    willowick ,oh
    Posts
    261
    You have nitrogen mixed in with the 410. May have happened at the factory or with your leak test if you did one. Pull the charge in the system and be careful not to kill your recovery machine doing it. you may have to resort to some diminimus to not damage your equipment.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seattle WA
    Posts
    1,225
    Quote Originally Posted by heresjohnnyb View Post
    You have nitrogen mixed in with the 410. May have happened at the factory or with your leak test if you did one. Pull the charge in the system and be careful not to kill your recovery machine doing it. you may have to resort to some diminimus to not damage your equipment.
    I read your post and it made me cringe... I just had one of my guy's install a Goodman dry R22 unit. I told him about 8 times that there is no refrigerant in the damn thing and that he needs to let the nitrogen out then pull a vac then charge. This dullard went ahead and pulled a vac then cracked the valves releasing all the nitrogen into the system then turned the unit on... He sat there for 2 hours like a dope trying to figure out why the suction side gauge was pegged out at "retard". I told him that he's the reason why it says "retard"... I went out there and heard the compressor being tortured to death.
    America; first we fight for our freedom,
    then we make laws to take it away.

    -Alfred E Newman

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Palmyra, Missouri, United States
    Posts
    224
    Same thing at my company. After I wasted around 15 pounds from two different systems, they finally sent a memo out to all our installers.who cant read anyway. Big sticker right.next to service valves charged with nitrogen, remove and pull vacum then charge.. Lol dont.they get it dry unit....lol

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    1,751
    Quote Originally Posted by maxwell800xp View Post
    I can hear the compressor labor at the higher pressure. My boss said not to worry about it unless the customer calls. I think the compressor may be damaged by this high pressure. Any thoughts out there?
    I hope there are plenty of homeowners reading this post!
    This is that guy who came in $1000 lower on a full system quote!
    Now you know what you're paying for!

    I hope your boss goes out of business for ruining my industry! Sorry about your luck. I would suggest finding someone else to work for. You are on a sinking ship!
    "The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing" Socrates

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NC Sandhills
    Posts
    393
    Make sure the piston isnt clogged, but if it were your sh and sc shouldnt be in line. If it warms up any it will be bouncing off high limit.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    657
    There's an easy check for noncondensables get post count up and apply for pro.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event