Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 31
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ypsi. Mi.
    Posts
    198

    How do you get a builder to listen when you tell him that unit is way to big

    I`m doing a install job for a builder who thinks he knows it all.Have a 1000.sq/ft home all open 1 bed 1 bath.He ask`s me to tell him what size equipment to get.So I go out there look it over they want 90% furnace.They have plans to finish attic into living space no time soon.If they do it will only add maybe 400sq/ft at most.Anyway I tell him 80,000 btu furnace 2 ton A/C should be fine for house now.House is on a slab with downflow unit in very tight space like always.So this dumb ass brings me 31/2 ton air and 100,000 furnace.Now it`s way to big for the home I tell him that`s not going to work well for this small home. It`s even to big after they do upstairs if they ever do.He say`s i`m paying you and for the equipment so just put it in it will be fine.Guess what home owner is not happy it`s like a hurricane when the blower comes on.It`s not cooling right the charge is right on per superheat.It`s fun to say I told you so but now he think`s it`s the install job.I told him it does not even matter if it`s a good or bad job it`s to f`n big for the home what part of that don`t you get.When you read a blue print for a home and it calls for a 2 by 6 do you put in a 2 by 8 and say why won`t this work.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    93
    So you went ahead and installed the system regardless... Well that's where you made a mistake. When he was telling you "I'm paying you to install it blah blah blah" you shouldve said you're doing the job right or walking away. I understand nobody wants to turn down work these days, but sometimes its necessary when you lead the horse to the water but you just can't make him drink. At this point you can tell him its oversized until you're red in the face and hopefully you convince him. Or until it becomes a legal matter and gets settled that way. Until then, the h/o might believe the contractor that it was a "poor installation" and it could hurt your reputation. Hard telling what exactly to do at this point if he is that close minded about it. Hope you got paid at least. If there's ever a "next time" maybe consider a waiver if someone insists that you install improperly sized equipment. Sorry to hear about your troubles.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ypsi. Mi.
    Posts
    198
    I did get paid for most of it he`s short a couple hundred.If that's all I loose and the h/o understands.It passed inspection but they told h/o unit`s a little big for sq/ft.

  4. #4
    I agree with the mb20fan on this one because all you have is your tools and representation of your work. It always to pays to do it right the first time so you will not have to double work yourself and lose out on another job.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ypsi. Mi.
    Posts
    198
    This was the 1st install for this builder.I`v done a lot of service work for him and no problems.When I asked him where is the other guy you were using for install`s. He just changed the subject 1st red flag I should have noticed then he said he will get the equipment dropped off from my supplier.2nd red flag turns out it`s Gibson stuff I`v never used Gibson stuff.I was going to pick up Bryant or Arcoair.Might be last install for this guy.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    925
    The GC finished the equipment and told him to install it. The OP said this is to big but, he was told to do it. I would have gotten this in writing. but the fact the GC supplied the equipment i see nothing wrong with installing it. We don't know if they have plans to expand, we know they have an upstairs that may or may not be used. the GC should pay to take it out and to install the right one. If i was the homeowner that's what i would ask for. The installer does not hold the warranty either. So its all on the GC.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ypsi. Mi.
    Posts
    198
    Now the builder want`s to know if I can change the blower motor out.He wants a smaller one that won`t move as much air.I told him no I can`t it won`t work.He said yes it will they do it all the time. When you put a new motor in a unit that`s older and you can`t get the right one.That`s not what we have here the slower motor will not move enough air across the coil.It will freeze up and be even worse.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Fort Mcmurray,Ab
    Posts
    56
    Never heard of a builder over sizing equipment, under sizing to save a buck, heard that! He must have got a deal on the equipment!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,673
    Is there no way to modify what he has to make it work?

    If no, then say you will do what he says and if it doesn't work he has to pay you $X each time, and $X is a substantial sum to him.
    This way he "has a dog in this fight" and he is putting serious money where his mouth is. The more he is convinced he is right, the bigger $X he should agree to, so X gives you a numerical measure of his certainty, or lack of it.

    I wouldn't spend any more time trying to reason with him, and some people hang onto their beliefs even more tightly when anybody presents evidence that his or her belief is wrong.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ypsi. Mi.
    Posts
    198
    This builder is doing the home for a friend of his.They bought the house 1/2 done then it went into foreclosure.The previous owner had a hvac contractor do the duct work.The other hvac guy had his equipment in place.When he never got paid he came and took it all out.Left a hole in floor and a hole in ceiling 1 inch t-stat wire hanging out of wall and ceiling.He might not have been a very good one to start with he left his concentric termination behind.Myself I would not use a concentric but that`s just me.A brand new house how easy is it to make 2 holes for venting.But that`s why he went bigger than the right size it`s a friend of his or was a friend lol

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    534
    Don't know where you are at, i thought your 2T/80 was on the large side! 3.5T/100 is wayyyy overkill! My house is about that size and its 80 years old and my 2stg 60 rarely sees high fire, and I'm in Canada!

    Deal with this garbage from builders all the time, usually the equipment is the right size (heat loss required in most new construction) but the builder keeps reducing duct work size

    I feel for you, hope it works out

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    nebraska
    Posts
    1,620
    Yep. The only time my 44K furnace hit high fire was on a 20 below zero morning. Same sized house but 60 years old. New construction shouldn't need anything near that big if they plan on putting doors and windows in the place.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    20,261
    I would not have installed it... however here is a thought:

    Next time tell the builder to sign off you warned him, you are NOT responsible, and sign off on a load calc. If the builder will not sign off... then ask him 'Why not?'... and just look at him...

    Builder will find a Craig's list guy... you need to do your best or leave your tools in your van.
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Galatians 2:20-21; Colossians 1: 21-22 & 26-27; 3:1-4; Romans Ch's 5-6-7-8

    2 Chronicles 7:14

    Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event