Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst 123456789101112 LastLast
Results 66 to 78 of 148

Thread: SMAN or Testo?

  1. #66
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NW Florida
    Posts
    713

    SMAN 3??????

    I bought a new sman 3 last year. Took back first one. Unit would shut off for no reason. Got second one. Had to replace both valves in manifold to stop leaking. Clamp broke for thermo. Had that replaced. Other clamp broke and warranty is out. Then hanging hook pulled out hanging over puddle of water....You guessed it. Won't even power up now. VERY! VERY!!!! disappointed in fieldpiece over this one. Told parts house what happened. They just rolled their eyes. Said there was nothing they could do. I said, There is something I can do. I will never purchase anything from you again. Been a customer for 18 years. But not anymore. Still not sure if warranty is up. Can't find receipt. Any suggestions?????

  2. #67
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    jax fl
    Posts
    84

    ditto

    Quote Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
    i got the sman 3 and testo 557.
    copped a 570 today and waiting for the sman 4.

    i like testo and fieldpiece cause they have great customer ser vice.

    as far as digitals go...i just think thy both are great and fun to use.

    now if fieldpiece would please release the sman 4, it will be the end of my insane buying spree.
    Yeah i am waiting for the 4 to come out soon but I aint jumping to buy it I will wait 6 months. Price will be high.
    Sir Ace says, Don't hate the breed, just the breeder!

  3. #68
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    jax fl
    Posts
    84
    Quote Originally Posted by meoberry View Post
    I bought a new sman 3 last year. Took back first one. Unit would shut off for no reason. Got second one. Had to replace both valves in manifold to stop leaking. Clamp broke for thermo. Had that replaced. Other clamp broke and warranty is out. Then hanging hook pulled out hanging over puddle of water....You guessed it. Won't even power up now. VERY! VERY!!!! disappointed in fieldpiece over this one. Told parts house what happened. They just rolled their eyes. Said there was nothing they could do. I said, There is something I can do. I will never purchase anything from you again. Been a customer for 18 years. But not anymore. Still not sure if warranty is up. Can't find receipt. Any suggestions?????
    Never had an issue I would write Field Piece and tell them and send the SR# they should know when you purchased it. The only issue I had with it was the hanging hook it broke but other then that I had no issues. I have heard about the screen going blank but knock on wood mine is working just fine. I purchased it becasue the price of the temp clamps on the Testo is 90.00 bucks each with tax over 100 so for 350.00 total I got the sman3 and I was very pleased with it.
    Sir Ace says, Don't hate the breed, just the breeder!

  4. #69
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    7,216
    Quote Originally Posted by meoberry View Post
    I bought a new sman 3 last year. Took back first one. Unit would shut off for no reason. Got second one. Had to replace both valves in manifold to stop leaking. Clamp broke for thermo. Had that replaced. Other clamp broke and warranty is out. Then hanging hook pulled out hanging over puddle of water....You guessed it. Won't even power up now. VERY! VERY!!!! disappointed in fieldpiece over this one. Told parts house what happened. They just rolled their eyes. Said there was nothing they could do. I said, There is something I can do. I will never purchase anything from you again. Been a customer for 18 years. But not anymore. Still not sure if warranty is up. Can't find receipt. Any suggestions?????
    This is where you can post the sad story and get free stuff.
    http://HVAC-Talk.com/vbb/showthread....591-Fieldpiece

    This is where you can commiserate with the deaded.
    http://HVAC-Talk.com/vbb/showthread....at-Age-3-weeks!
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  5. #70
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    I thought the 557 manual was hard to understand ....well I just read he 570 manual and it's even less comprehendable!

    Good thing TTT and Testo have superior customer service.

    Even the rep at Testo agrees the manual is badly written for our corner of the world.

    Otherwise all I can say is F'ing WOW!

    This thing does everything..third probe, amp clamp and a whole list of other stuff.

    Now i can get ODA while checking SC & SH.

    I am going to invest in the remote temp probes next summer. Season is almost over to buy them now.

    You guys want my opinion, skip thh 550 and go directly to the 557 or 570. It's worth it.

    Now that I have the 570 my helper is chomping at the bit for my SMAN 3.

    Which reminds me... WHEN THE HELL IS THE SMAN 4 COMING OUT?????

  6. #71
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NW Florida
    Posts
    713

    Thumbs up

    Well fellas. Russell with fieldpiece. Has just made my day err....Make that month. He is sending me a brand new sman3 to replace the one that I mentioned in earlier post. You guys can use whatever you want. I will never use or recomend anything other than fieldpiece. Excellent customer service. Just as good as I give my customers. Maybe even a little better.

  7. #72
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    I haven't even met anyone with digitals so if russel wants to send me some too I will spread the word in my area lol.

  8. #73
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by meoberry View Post
    Well fellas. Russell with fieldpiece. Has just made my day err....Make that month. He is sending me a brand new sman3 to replace the one that I mentioned in earlier post. You guys can use whatever you want. I will never use or recomend anything other than fieldpiece. Excellent customer service. Just as good as I give my customers. Maybe even a little better.
    Fieldpiece or Testo...both are great...some guys just complain and crab about them cause they don't know all the functions and are too embarrassed to admit here

  9. #74
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    jax fl
    Posts
    84
    Quote Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
    Fieldpiece or Testo...both are great...some guys just complain and crab about them cause they don't know all the functions and are too embarrassed to admit here
    aint that the truth.. alot of techs will say that they know how to do sub cool and superheat and come to findout that they dont.
    Sir Ace says, Don't hate the breed, just the breeder!

  10. #75
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Triad - North Carolina
    Posts
    454
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    I've worked with those guys, too.

    3 years ago, when I bought my 1200, one of them was my boss. I talked to him about buying it before I pulled the trigger and heard comments like "You've smart enough, you don't need those things" and "Those are for 'dumb' techs" and various other derogatory comments...

    The last laugh is on him, because he now owns and uses an AK-900......

    Does that mean he's a 'dumb tech'??
    Just my two cents but, the "dumb" techs cant use the digitals without screwing up the charge! You still have to be able to understand the information given to you and use it correctly. More accurate means better information not more information unless they don't take superheat and subcool measurements to begin with.

  11. #76
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    24
    Two other guys at my company have Testo 550, I have just bought the 557. Very happy with it so far and in my opinion looks alot more professional compared to the toy look of the sman.

  12. #77
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    new york
    Posts
    666
    I have the 550 and can get subcool and super heat just fine. Why do a lot of you here have a hard time finding subcool and super heat readings on the 550?

  13. #78
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    new york
    Posts
    666
    Well have him hook me up a well. I work at a radio station building and will gladly tell others in the field how much ai love the filedpiece. Fieldpiece will still have to prove to me how the test 550 in junk and why I scouldnt use it. My testo 550 works fine.

Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst 123456789101112 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event