freon 410 problem in iraq - Page 3
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 41
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    155
    Quote Originally Posted by KB Cool View Post
    Are you serious?
    Nah.
    I didn't think you were either.
    Just a nod of caution for the possibly unsuspecting..
    A close-up of the coil after a season or two would have been better.

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East coast USA
    Posts
    938
    Quote Originally Posted by mixsit View Post
    Nah.
    I didn't think you were either.
    Just a nod of caution for the possibly unsuspecting..
    A close-up of the coil after a season or two would have been better.
    Interesting, yes i would be curious after a season how the coils look. in cold climates how much you want to bet it freezes, Because they forget its there...

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Iraq
    Posts
    1,007
    Quote Originally Posted by dlove View Post
    Thank YOU, i have been telling this to people and they just don't understand this. Over and over i have said when you replace a R22 with a 410 you may need re-size it because swapping out a 3ton r22 with a 3ton 410 will not operate the same in high temps.
    i didnt mean that i wnt to swap the 22 with 410a by changing the split unit freaon only
    i meant changing the whole 22 split unit with new split working on 410a
    when we tried the 410a new split their cooling was not so good since the temp is reached 55c in some places
    also 22 freon cooling is very good but the conpressor is overheated then stopped working
    so do you advice me to use freon 407c or not
    thanx

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Posts
    4,877
    Quote Originally Posted by kefah View Post
    i didnt mean that i wnt to swap the 22 with 410a by changing the split unit freaon only
    i meant changing the whole 22 split unit with new split working on 410a
    when we tried the 410a new split their cooling was not so good since the temp is reached 55c in some places
    also 22 freon cooling is very good but the conpressor is overheated then stopped working
    so do you advice me to use freon 407c or not
    thanx
    Thats exactly what he said.

    The system your trying to run is not designed to operate in the area you have it.
    You need a different type of system.
    Using ANY air source is not going to be effective.
    "Better tell the sandman to stay away, because we're gonna be workin on this one all night."

    "Dude, you need more than 2 wires to a condenser to run a 2 stage heatpump."

    "Just get it done son."

    Dad adjusted

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Iraq
    Posts
    1,007
    thanx
    ok

    what is opinion if i use new split unit working on 407c
    is freon 407c is best than r22

  6. #32
    most air conditioning systems are designed for 90 degree ambient,for proper operation situations. clearly you are exceeding that, you have add extra tonnage for the added temperature discrepency.

  7. #33
    basically just get a larger capacity condenser.

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,595
    Quote Originally Posted by kefah View Post
    thanx
    ok

    what is opinion if i use new split unit working on 407c
    is freon 407c is best than r22
    R407C is not better the R22.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Griffin, Georgia
    Posts
    550
    Water cooled is the only solution. You could rig up a lawn sprinkler spraying on the outdoor coil as a test. Saw that one time on a call. Stacked coil completely blocked.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,243
    Water is more precious then R22 in the desert, isn't it?

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2,509
    Quote Originally Posted by timjimbob View Post
    Water is more precious then R22 in the desert, isn't it?
    Excellent observation.
    Trying not to be a Hack.

  12. #38
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    628
    If this is a thermal power plant, they have to have water available in order to make steam to run the turbines. The best bet, like others have said is probably a water-source ac or heat pump and a cooling tower. An air-cooled ac could work but not at stock specs. You would need a higher compression ratio to get the difference between high and low side to be greater. If you can get a walk-in to freeze in Phoenix (where I live), with an air-cooled system, you can get a room to room temp in 60 C ambient. But it has to be designed to do so. And 60-70C ambient is at the maximum temp of condenser fans. Highest I have seen is 70C rated which, if that is really ambient, by the time the air pics up condenser heat, it will be much warmer and probably cause a very short fan life. I would go with a WSHP.

  13. #39
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,243
    As posted earlier, different refrigerants have different "critical temperatures" that are less suitable to high temperatures. Any use of water to cool is complicated by minerals in the water. Typically, water in hot, arid climaytes is more problematic with fouling and if the hot climate is also very humid, there is little benefit to water cooling. Try to air cool, if all possible

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event