Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Kansas City, KS
    Posts
    2

    trane t stat is blowing transformer

    I replaced a trane heat pump tsat (Tempcon 602) and i am now blowing transformers. It is going to a dual fuel kit tayplus 103a. I was able to match up the wires correctly except for one the T wire, there is not one for the new stat i thought is matched up to the F wire, becaues the T wire and the F wire were matched on the tstst install driections. The a/c and heat pump is working but the emheat is were the amps on the 24v spiking. any ideas

    thanks
    Dave

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,063
    No DIY call a contractor.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,635
    tempcon 602?

    sure that thing wasn't a tcont602

    now you've let the magic smoke out (it can't be put back either)

    need to call someone that is capable of figuring out how that t-stat gets wired.

    jt-you gonna get the dreaded message- you aren't permitted to post in any of the AOP forums without a * after your name
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,063
    I have a * dandy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,635
    didn't notice - never mind then.....
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,665
    That t wire gets the best of many people .the t wire is only used on trane mercury bulb thermostats .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Pro tip: Fuses are cheaper than transformers, and take a lot less time to replace.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Kansas City, KS
    Posts
    2
    Thanks Im just going to rewire the whole system with a honeywell vision pro.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,298
    Quote Originally Posted by catmanacman View Post
    That t wire gets the best of many people .the t wire is only used on trane mercury bulb thermostats .
    I've seen the t terminal on Honeywell also. Looks just like the trane branded stat though. In either case we just don't hook up the T at all when replacing with digital. I not sure what T even does, some type of anticipation circuit ?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,063
    Quote Originally Posted by 54regcab View Post
    I've seen the t terminal on Honeywell also. Looks just like the trane branded stat though. In either case we just don't hook up the T at all when replacing with digital. I not sure what T even does, some type of anticipation circuit ?
    Goes to thermistor to control cycling in heat for that thermostat

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    84
    As stated the "T" wire was hooked to an outdoor thermistor for heating anticipation of a mercury bulb thermostat, just omit it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event