Thread: unloaders

hi everyone... this is my first post...i'm a student studying hvac at lincoln technical institute here in nj. while doing a web search i was happy to stumble across this website. i'm looking forward to gaining additional knowledge from experienced members here on this board. i hope everyone will remain patient with me and hope that my questions don't seem too simplistic.

at this moment i'm interested in learning more about reciprocating compressor unloader operation and troubleshooting. can anyone help me out with this subject? is there a good online resource that addresses the subject in detail?

thanks in advance...

Welcome, you can learn alot here from guys here. What kind of semi compressors are you working on? Compressors can unload with oil pressure electric actuated or oil pressure operated on suction pressure or unload mechanical with electric solenoids.

Might help if you study one compressor and how it unloads and move on. Let me know and I could hook you up with information

Hi ej... and thank you for responding so quickly to my post... well right off the bat i've already learned from YOU, that there are at least 3 different types of semi hermetic unloaders designs... this is great! right now i'm not working with any of the 3, this is all independent study i'm doing on my own. i agree with you that it makes great sense to study one system at a time and move from there. i trust your judgement completely and will leave it upto you on where i should start. i should add that i may have a good chance to go to work as an apprentice for the Trane Company here in new jersey once school is complete. will some of the information you share cover trane compressors too? again... thank you so much for your quick attention... i hope one day i can return this favor some how.

peace2U ej!