Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    4

    Confused Goodman Liquid Line Drier Replacement Questions

    Hello and thanks in advance for your assistance,

    I have a six year old Goodman Compressor (model CLQ48-1B, or CL048-1B the data label is hard to read...) that may have developed a leak at the liquid line drier. One tech from the A/C company said the drier was not leaking after 30 minutes of testing with a Fluke digital freon sniffer (apologies if that's not the right term) and also a soap test. He said the Schrader valve caps were worn out and replaced them with new ones with inner seals. He wanted a second opinion and asked his supervisor to come out and check the next day.

    This bloke also used a digital freon sniffer and said that the same drier was leaking. He also said that this model of Goodman compressor had the drier on the inside of the coils (next to the Copeland Scroll Compressor) and as such, it could not be drawn down and the freon would be have to be recycled and new virgin freon must be used to recharge the system. The first tech told me that the freon could be drawn down on the same unit, so who is right? Any Goodman installers/dealers out there? So, does anyone know if this unit can be drawn down or not? If so, it would save the cost of the freon at least. Since both of the tech's at this company are at odds as to whether you can draw down the freon and reuse it, I'm unsure how to proceed. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance for your time and assistance.

    "Auf den Flόgeln eines eleganten Silber Dame"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    East tx
    Posts
    164
    If the drier is internal to the outdoor unit the freon must be recovered into an approved cylinder. The freon can be reused if recovered properly.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winnipeg
    Posts
    1,330
    I concure
    it was working.... played with it.... now its broke.... whats the going hourly rate for HVAC repair

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Galveston Texas
    Posts
    530
    The drier is internal and the refrigerant will need to be recovered and then can be reused.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    4
    Hello,

    Thanks for the information... So a draw down is not possible due to the location of the drier, no problemo. My A/C company has said that you cannot under any circumstance reuse the recycled freon. They are adamant that you must recharge with virgin freon only. I'm not sure how many pounds of freon it holds, but the data label says it has an 8.5 lb charge, plus the 25' of 1" line to the unit in the attic, so there would be even more, maybe 10 lbs total??? Being able to reuse the old freon would save a lot of dinero, but they say it cannot be done. Is there some secret to reusing the freon from the recycle tank? Thanks in advance for any assistance?
    Last edited by MB S550; 08-15-2012 at 10:35 AM. Reason: Pricing Removed

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,281
    MB S550,

    Prices are not allowed to be posted and are irrelevant anyways due to different pricing in different geographical areas

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Dacula, GA
    Posts
    12,837
    Wow is all I can say. Get another company they are hacks big time. You can definitly reuse freon in the same unit you took it out of but cannot reuse it in another unit. They don't know what they are doing if they say that and I wouldn't trust them on an estimate either. Thank you very much
    "I could have ended the war in a month. I could have made North Vietnam look like a mud puddle."
    "I have little interest in streamlining government or in making it more efficient, for I mean to reduce its size. I do not undertake to promote welfare, for I propose to extend freedom. My aim is not to pass laws, but to repeal them. It is not to inaugurate new programs, but to cancel old ones that do violence to the Constitution."
    Barry Goldwater

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Upstate SC
    Posts
    1,439
    Did they possibly do an acid test and that is why they are saying they can't reuse it.

    Sent from my ERIS using Tapatalk 2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,281
    Going with the others here,,, it is YOUR gas and your machine....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,060
    Quote Originally Posted by MB S550 View Post
    Hello,

    Thanks for the information... So a draw down is not possible due to the location of the drier, no problemo. My A/C company has said that you cannot under any circumstance reuse the recycled freon. They are adamant that you must recharge with virgin freon only. I'm not sure how many pounds of freon it holds, but the data label says it has an 8.5 lb charge, plus the 25' of 1" line to the unit in the attic, so there would be even more, maybe 10 lbs total??? Being able to reuse the old freon would save a lot of dinero, but they say it cannot be done. Is there some secret to reusing the freon from the recycle tank? Thanks in advance for any assistance?
    It can be done they do not want to do it. use another company.The profit margin on the refrigerant is what they are looking for.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,060
    Quote Originally Posted by glennac View Post
    Wow is all I can say. Get another company they are hacks big time. You can definitly reuse freon in the same unit you took it out of but cannot reuse it in another unit. They don't know what they are doing if they say that and I wouldn't trust them on an estimate either. Thank you very much
    It can be used in another unit provided it is under the same ownership.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    4
    Hello again,

    Thanks for all of your answers and help... I sincerely appreciate it!

    jdblack: They did not do an acid test (the only testing they did was a leak test with a digital leak detector and a spray on soap test, nothing else), they just said that it was impossible to reuse any freon that was recycled... ever... and that you must use virgin freon when recharging. I thought it sounded odd that you could not reuse the same freon that the unit was charged with and running on currently. They said the freon would be "contaminated" by moisture and air from the recycle tank and you could not reuse it. The freon recyclers I have seen (Mercedes-Benz dealerships) are very sophisticated pieces of equipment and I would be surprised if they contaminated the removed freon in any way, since it is frequently reinstalled in the same car after repairs are made.

    Thanks again for everyone's help... I need to find another A/C company that works in the North Houston/South Montgomery County Texas area. Does this board have a referral service? Thanks again!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Upstate SC
    Posts
    1,439
    You can look on the AOP contractor map.

    Sent from my ERIS using Tapatalk 2

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event