+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Nae with Lon Trunk

Post Likes

Nae with Lon Trunk

I have a lot of experience with the NAE connected to a BACnet or an N2 network, but never with a lon network. I'm going to be on a site soon that has an NAE with a Lon network throughout the building. I don't know much about the lon protocol other than the wiring is not polarity sensitive, each controller has a neuron ID, and the topology can be a mesh. I also have experience with FX Builder which I know uses a few lon rules when programming. Other than that I'm lost. I was hoping to get some feed back about the NAE and lon being used together. Any help is appreciated. Also, I know there is a ton of info about lon on this board, but I'd like to know how to set it up with the NAE which I'm sure is a pain.

Post Likes
    Well, I heard they worked. Bought one, tried to use it and failed. I'm sure someone around here has gotten them to successfully work, and I'm sure once they do, they are as easy as N2 or MS/TP. Check the Quicklit site for the info on setting up their lon trunk. It's quite tricky.

Post Likes
    NAE & Lon =

Post Likes
    Does anyone know what LN Builder does? You can't setup the database in the NAE?

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Igotworms View Post
    Does anyone know what LN Builder does? You can't setup the database in the NAE?
    You cannot setup the lon bus in the NAE. JCI uses LN Builder to build the lon trunk with the NAE on it. You have to commission the NAE into LN Builder to get it read the other devices on the trunk. Then you have to run a special plugin to make the SNVTs in the NAE match with the ones in the controllers. Then you get to do a reboot and watch while it takes like 10 minutes to read in and sync all the values from the controllers.