Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Orange County, in a Galaxy far far away...
    Posts
    277

    WTF Fieldpiece breaking down on me...

    Well I don't know if its the heat or something else but on Thursday my 3 month old HS36 wouldn't read amps correctly. Its auto ranging and reads numbers with a decimal point, the M and K symbol flash on and off while it hunts through the range. Never used to do that, before it was turn to VAC, hook on clamp and read amps. Tried resetting, changing batteries. Pretty much every tip I could find on line, no joy. But hey I'll use an amp clamp from my friends hs33 !
    Well **** me sideways the readings were still goofy, I thought okay, button up and call fieldpiece. No answer, hhmmmm. anyway right as I was pulling the leads out the common pin inside the head attachment came off!!!
    Great, just great.

    Now to cap things off I tested it again on my own a/c unit at home Thursday night, put the magnetic strap on the back onto the condenser (as I have done a thousand times with hs33 and this meter) and promptly watched my meter fall to the ground!!

    Aaarrggghhhh!!!!!!!!!

    Friday morning bought another HS36 from J-mart, a tech without a meter is like a Dr. without a stethoscope.

    BTW i bought another HS36 because I have a bunch of head attachments, fan, gas pressure, Co detector, flame diode, amp clamp, K-type thermoclamp etc. Switching to Fluke just isn't practical at this point.

    Sigh...
    You cannot cheat an honest man. But that doesn't stop people trying!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    801
    3 months old. Call fieldpiece I'm positive they will help you out.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    370
    Yes they do have a 1 year warranty so Fieldpiece should be able to help you if anything you'll at least get another new meter.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Orange County, in a Galaxy far far away...
    Posts
    277
    Already got a response from Russell at Fieldpiece. He's out of town but Jeremy is on the case now. Will update everyone on here with my experience (probably good and what we find.
    You cannot cheat an honest man. But that doesn't stop people trying!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    801
    If you end up with two hs36 I'll trade you a sc77 (refurbished and never used) for the repaired Hs36.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Orange County, in a Galaxy far far away...
    Posts
    277
    Many thanks to Russell and Jeremy at Fieldpiece.

    Dropped by the HQ today between service calls and everything was handled in under 10 minutes. That blew me away. Time is precious to me right now especially with service calls stacking up!

    I now have 2 fully working hs36's one still in the wrapper.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    895
    Dang, wish they would send me the looong test leads. I got shorted on the ones that come with the sc56..................

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    louisville, ky
    Posts
    951
    yea, the fieldpiece leads are shorter than fluke leads, i use fluke leads with me fieldpiece meters for the longer reach, and i like the fact that they are one piece, the fieldpiece leads come apart so u can hook aligater clips to them, i dont like leads like that, the connection could get weak and not sense voltage and that would suck.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,574
    Quote Originally Posted by Vettgetsmwet04 View Post
    yea, the fieldpiece leads are shorter than fluke leads, i use fluke leads with me fieldpiece meters for the longer reach, and i like the fact that they are one piece, the fieldpiece leads come apart so u can hook aligater clips to them, i dont like leads like that, the connection could get weak and not sense voltage and that would suck.
    I got the longer Fluke leads that come apart cause I wanted some of the nice spring jaw attachments. FWIW If you look close at the Fluke connection there are many more points of contact vs the Fieldpiece ones. I wouldn't doubt it if the Flukes where made from better material too.... at least it seems that way to me. I could have bought a whole Fieldpiece meter for what they cost though
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event