Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Intake PVC Disconnected

    I am having a Rhem 96% 2 stage with variable speed furnace installed. It is a retrofit in a 1991 home with the old style chimney vent. They are installing new PVC through the wall, but they did not have space to run both PVC pipes, so they just ran the exast one and left the intake disconnected in the basement furnace room. Will this reduce efficiency a lot, is it bad for the furnace.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Athens, Ohio
    Posts
    2,107
    Two concerns:
    1. How big is the furnace room? If it is too small there will not be enough air for complete combustion and your furnace efficiency will be reduced.
    2. Drawing air from the house for combustion may put the house under negative pressure. Negative pressure can cause draft/vent problems with other appliances and/or cause leaks in the house to pull in unconditioned air from outside which increases discomfort.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold.calm
    Posts
    6,355
    No room for a 2" PVC pipe, please!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,062
    Can you say lazy!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,635
    is the furnace room surrounded by finished rooms?

    most mfg's allow one pipe (exhaust only), but there is probably a recommended minimum for the intake--somebody needs to look at the instructions that came with it.
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,635
    duplicate
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Peoria, IL
    Posts
    2,242
    Quote Originally Posted by dandyme View Post
    duplicate
    They do, you have to figure the area, and if there are any other gas appliances, and there location but yes most allow it, as long as it all checks out. It will be i n the instructions as you stated, but i think the given is 50 cubic feet for 1000 btu

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,898
    Demand the figure out to add a second pipe
    We really need change now

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    There's always room 90% of the time lol. I did one the other day I had 6" to squeeze the pipes in and just snorkeled the exhaust for separation.

  10. #10
    They were able to fit it in after all. Thanks for the help and advice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event