After crawling around in the attic recently, I felt cool air around the duct unit and figured I had leaks in the ducts. Well, it turns out it's worse than that. I'm no expert on what these things are called, but the big box attached to the furnace and blower with all the ducts running out of it wasn't sealed properly. On the bottom of the box is a gap almost 1" wide at one point that was left completely open and air is just pumping out of it. It's almost too big to try to put mastic and tape over it. I went to Home Depot to get some expandable foam to put in it but the "expert" there said that would make the unit sweat, plus I'm worried about how hot the unit may get in the winter. Expandable foam is combustible above 240F. This was a poor installation job and I'm ticked I'm just now finding it after almost 7 years. No telling how much this has cost me. Can anyone recommend the best way to fix this disaster?

Not sure how that "expert" figure foam would make the unit sweat, it is an insulator not a conductor, therefore could not possibly sweat.

I would not reccomend using foam being that it is combustible and you dont want it getting on your blower or coil or anything else when it expands.

The right way to fix this would be to have a contractor come out and remove the whole "box" and seal it then securely fasten it to the air handler. And if the box is incorrectly sized or built you may need a new one made altogether. At the same time all of the connections where the round ducts come off of the box could be sealed properly as well (because they most likely are not now). Even if it costs you more doing it the right way, you will probably make your money back in the long run with energy savings, and have peace of mind knowing that you are not losing money into cooling your attic!

I think you need more than just the gap sealed.

Hard to tell from the picture, but that looks like the connection between the furnace and the evaperator coil.