Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    levittown, pa
    Posts
    66

    Nordyne/Frigidaire blower fault

    I just installed a frigidaire 2 ton system, 14 seer heat pump with a b6vm fan coil. Upon power up it gets a signal from the stat and then the fan coil board and blower motor board start blinking red, while the green light stays on solid. In the instructions it is indicating a motor fault with no steps to properly correct the issue. There is a brown and gray harness coming off the motor that is not plugged in, but I see no female end. The blower does work for about 30 sec upon power up if there is a call then the led's blink red. Any ideas on how remedy the problem? Dip switches are set properly. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,447
    Usually means a defecto motor. What's the full model #? Trying to see if it is a Mexican or Chinese motor? Sounds like a Broad Ocean control setup. Last Broad Ocean ECM I saw had a jumper that is disconnected for 240V. That's likely the brown & gray wires you see.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    levittown, pa
    Posts
    66
    Wow, bad right out of the box? The full model # is b6vmax24k-a. I've never had a bad variable speed blower bad out of the box, just compressors..lol. It is 240 volts at power input, is there a spot where those wires need to go?
    Sorry for buggin ya's I don't know everything but I'm not a spring chicken either.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,447
    If I recall right, when that motor is used on a 120V furnace, those 2 wires hook into each other.

    Other than bad motor, a connection that came apart might be the only other problem. We had a furnace go down, say 2-3 years old. Took a new motor, no luck. Tried main board & ECM board, still no luck. Got in a new motor, off she ran. So DOA motor probably isn't unusual

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    levittown, pa
    Posts
    66
    Well, thanks man!!!! It sucks though, but at least my customer does have ac. I have had very good luck with this nordyne equipment until now. I guess I'll just get a new motor on monday. I have to get on here more, about half the time its only when I have a problem...lol. Thanks again.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    levittown, pa
    Posts
    66
    Thanks again, I went back to recheck my dip swithches today to no avail. Tech support is telling me to replace the motor control board and the module.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    levittown, pa
    Posts
    66
    Apparently this must be a rare motor, it does not get into my hands til august 30th.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event