Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 28
  1. #14
    Here's my latest attempts to solve this problem.

    I disconnected the millivolt generator and instead connected in a .75 voltage supply (to make sure the thermopile wasn't the problem). After a few minutes, it kicked off again so I know the thermopile isn't the problem.

    I also shorted the connections at the gas valve to take the high temp. cutoffs and wall switch out of the picture, and the problem still occurred.

    I checked the pilot flame closely, and it stays in complete contact with the thermopile even when the burners all light.

    So, I think I'm down to suspecting the gas valve. Unless there is some other sensor that can shut everything down. Is there more than one thermopile on these fireplaces?

    I don't think it is a venting problem, because the flame doesn't flicker at all prior to it clicking off. If venting were the issue, then I would expect to see the fire dance around strangely before it died.

    Does anyone know where I can get a detailed spec of the gas valve - it is a RobertShaw 7000MVRLC. When I go to the RobertShaw website, I don't see any specs there.

    Still stumped.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Powell River, BC, Canada
    Posts
    763
    I'm assuming it's not a QD valve with t-pile AND t-couple, or a mercury vapor switch in the circuit?
    Before the gas valve is replaced, an EPU check and an operating head check need to be done. EPU should be 0-13 ohms, and head should be 0-10.9 ohms. Any fireplace tech can check these quickly. Only if one of those readings is out should the valve be replaced.
    Where are you? Are you done yet? I got ONE more call for you.....

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    159
    Google 'Marco fireplace recall' and see if it applies to the model [794] you have.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    700
    Not familiar with this make, but it sounds like it could be a vent safety switch tripping, breaking the mv circuit. And the switch may be doing it's job, reacting to a venting issue.
    Question authority!

  5. #18

    Talking Finally fixed

    Well I had another technician come out and this guy finally figured it out. He first replaced the thermocouple, thermopile, and pilot assembly. The problem still occurred. Next he measured the gas pressure, it was fine. Next he suspected venting. So, he removed the vent cover, sprayed it all out with compressed air and that did the trick. Apparently the venting was not allowing enough oxygen in, causing the pilot flame to come off the thermocouple causing it to cool down. It was a bit tricky because with the log in place we couldn't really see the thermocouple.

    Thanks for everyone's ideas!

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    700
    Thanks for the update, it's appreciated.
    Question authority!

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    1,383
    Mmmmm. Observing the pilot flame is an important part of diagnosing the problem correctly. If you couldn't see the pilot light with the logs in, the logs should have been removed and the glass reinstalled.




  8. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1

    Similar Problem

    Hi all.

    I've been reading through this forum and noticed that this seems to be very similar to my problem (the symtoms at least).

    I have a Regency P36d gas fireplace, with a straight vertical vent and flat glass front. The unit was just installed last December. Pretty much from new I have had the problem where the burner and pilot will shut off within the first few minutes of turning it on. After going through this a few times (restarting the pilot)...and the unit has heated up, it will run fine. The problem only happens when the unit is cool.

    A tech has been out a couple of times and apperantly replaced a part, of which I was not present to know which.

    The unit was off during the summer (pilot shut off), now that I have started it back up again, the problem is more frequent. The original installer is going to call regency for me, but they want to charge me service charges now if they have to come out to troubleshoot the unit. (Pending that it is not a Regency warrenty issue, which I kind of doubt it is)

    I personally beleive that it will be a similar issue to this thread and would rather solve the problem myself.

    I am just wondering if anyone can make any suggestions for what I should check to see if it is a venting problem. (a good order to check things in maybe? what specifically should I look for in the pilot when it does go out? etc.)

    (btw....sorry for the long reply post)

    Thanks!

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Powell River, BC, Canada
    Posts
    763
    We can't give DIY advice on this site, but if the unit is less than a year old and hasn't worked right from the beginning, you should not have to pay a dime! You paid for a properly installed and WORKING fireplace and if it's not working properly, the job's not done. I'd be raising h#ll with the installers if I were you. I'm a regency tech (just did another course and plant tour last week!) and know a decent tech should find the cause in about 1/2 an hour. At our last course, we had 9 simulations to troubleshoot and had a time limit of 10 min each. If it's a repeatable symptom, then it's not hard to figgure out.
    Where are you? Are you done yet? I got ONE more call for you.....

  10. #23
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,078
    sounds like a venting problem. the venting could violate the mfg specs, thus causing it not to operate correctly. (Too many elbows, too much horizontal, etc...). Could be missing a restricter plate also.

    I would hound the company that installed it until they get it working. Any decent place will stand by it until it is working 100% even if its out of its warranty.

  11. #24
    I am perplexed by my fireplace unit, too. I have a 584 Proflame Plus system with a remote. Actually, I have two units in the house, one upstairs and one down. The one down works fine. But, the one upstairs has had some problems. On that one I cleaned the air intake hole and now the pilot does stay on. BUT, when I turn the transmitter on and have it in remote mode, the flames work for awhile (so many seconds) and then the whole thing shuts down. It has worked when first purchased about 3 years ago. So any suggestions? I'm about ready to call a tech to come and check it, but wish I could fix the problem myself.

    Thanks for any responses.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,078
    After 3 years with no service there could be various problems. Might need new pilot assembly, could just need a really good cleaning, loose wires, bad gas valve, etc... Need a trained tech to find the exact problem.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    396
    GByers, I have seen many problems with that remote control system, but after 3 years, it is 2 years overdue for servicing. Give a professional a call and get it done properly.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event