Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 18

Thread: Can't breathe!

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    va
    Posts
    800

    Can't breathe!

    The pic says it all! I put this unit in 16 yrs ago. Trane 4 ton 10 SEER. Surprised it still works. I was over for another issue and noticed the unit......had to take a pic. There will be NO convincing the owner she needs to trim the hedges away from it. I'll just wait till it dies and tell her to cut them away so I can get to it!
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,445
    Very well manicured. Also well hidden from copper thieves.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Urbandale IA. USA
    Posts
    4,811
    Can't breathe, can't work on it either.
    .
    Those who dance, appear insane to those who do not hear the music.
    Those who believe, appear ignorant to those who do not know God.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Paper Street Soap Company
    Posts
    2,298
    Quote Originally Posted by cehs View Post
    Can't breathe, can't work on it either.
    .
    Yep, exactly.

    One of our building owners has 5 Tranes on his home surrounded by bushes. One needed a new comp.

    Told him to cut them back because it represented a safety hazard.

    He started to protest and then I interrupted him and asked if his home owners policy was up to date .

    He muttered an expletive and walked into one of his 2 garages and came out with a electric chainsaw.

    LOL

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    823
    Think of the shrubbery as a filter. I hate those old GE/Trane units. They're tough, but you have to exclusively use OEM replacement parts.

    I usually get the ones that are surrounded by Virginia Creeper, that turns out to be poison ivy.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Quote Originally Posted by AC5096 View Post
    I hate those old GE/Trane units. They're tough, but you have to exclusively use OEM replacement parts.
    Only for the compressor, everything else has alternatives to the OEM part.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,008
    I would've just trample over whatever garden they had put around their unit. I need the space to service it. either cut it or I walk on it.
    Parts Changer Extraordinaire
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Have tools and gauges, will travel.

    RIDGID|YELLOW JACKET|UEI|TESTO|STANLEY|CPS|VETO| KLEIN|MILWAUKEE|MASTERCRAFT|

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Amarillo by mornin'
    Posts
    850
    Quote Originally Posted by blitz View Post
    I would've just trample over whatever garden they had put around their unit. I need the space to service it. either cut it or I walk on it.
    "It's not that I'm smart, it's that I stay with the problem longer”
    Albert Einstein

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Beautiful, Philadelphia, the City of Brotherly Love!
    Posts
    1,075
    I would leave the unit in place, put a pad on top and install the new unit and wah-la the problem is solved.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Pompano Bch, S Fla
    Posts
    57
    Laughed (in a good way) at Blitz' solution. Laughed even harder at AtticAce's.
    We run in to this ALL THE TIME down here in South Florida. When faced with the choice of purty bushes or cold air the issue is resolved PDQ. A sawzall makes a great pruner

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,008
    Quote Originally Posted by Pete954 View Post
    Laughed (in a good way) at Blitz' solution. Laughed even harder at AtticAce's.
    We run in to this ALL THE TIME down here in South Florida. When faced with the choice of purty bushes or cold air the issue is resolved PDQ. A sawzall makes a great pruner
    I'm sure florida has lots of purdy bushes I like them trimmed....
    Parts Changer Extraordinaire
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Have tools and gauges, will travel.

    RIDGID|YELLOW JACKET|UEI|TESTO|STANLEY|CPS|VETO| KLEIN|MILWAUKEE|MASTERCRAFT|

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    51
    I'm sure blitz get's called back the next time something goes wrong..... or not.

    In fact if it blows upward the hot air isn't going to get drawn back in bushes or no bushes. As long as there is a bit of clearance between them and the unit, it probably increases efficiency by drawing air that's pre-cooled by the hollow, shady interior of the hedges and the dirt beneath.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,008
    no. I fixed it the 1st try hahaha. If I do get called back the bushes are trimmed.
    Parts Changer Extraordinaire
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Have tools and gauges, will travel.

    RIDGID|YELLOW JACKET|UEI|TESTO|STANLEY|CPS|VETO| KLEIN|MILWAUKEE|MASTERCRAFT|

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event