Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 40 to 47 of 47
  1. #40
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Quote Originally Posted by second opinion View Post
    You might want to edit ( ) to 2nd
    Why would I want to do that? On a Trane XL16i or AS Heritage 16 system , the control wires for 1st stage cooling connect to Y2 on the furnace control board or air handler LVTB.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  2. #41
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Quote Originally Posted by markf57 View Post
    However, when he installed a jumper between R and O, the HP delivered cold air when heating from the HP was called. This is just as mark beiser predicted would happen. He is at a loss how to get Comfort-r in HP heating mode. The bald one says he did it.
    To have Comfort-R in the heat mode of the heat pump, the wires for O from the thermostat and O to the outdoor unit need to be disconnected from the furnace control board and connected together directly, usually with a wire nut.
    Then the Jumper is installed between R and O on the control board.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  3. #42
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    136
    Quote Originally Posted by mark beiser View Post
    To have Comfort-R in the heat mode of the heat pump, the wires for O from the thermostat and O to the outdoor unit need to be disconnected from the furnace control board and connected together directly, usually with a wire nut.
    Then the Jumper is installed between R and O on the control board.
    Since I'm using an IAQ, can the installer accomplish this by disconnecting the O wire from the furnace control board and leaving the O from the outdoor unit connected to the O terminal on the EIM? There isn't a dedicated wire from the tstat to the O. Then add the R and O jumper to the control board??
    Thanks,

    Mark

  4. #43
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Quote Originally Posted by markf57 View Post
    Since I'm using an IAQ, can the installer accomplish this by disconnecting the O wire from the furnace control board and leaving the O from the outdoor unit connected to the O terminal on the EIM? There isn't a dedicated wire from the tstat to the O. Then add the R and O jumper to the control board??
    Yes
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  5. #44
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,060

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by mark beiser View Post
    Why would I want to do that? On a Trane XL16i or AS Heritage 16 system , the control wires for 1st stage cooling connect to Y2 on the furnace control board or air handler LVTB.
    Not according to my diagram. He has a gas furnace that should have "Y" and "Ylo". On the Air handler should say "Y/lo" and "Y/Y2.


    On the 16 series it should be "Y1 to Y on the furnace and Y/Y2 on the air handler to the OD unit yellow. and Y2 is wired through BK to yellow with red tracer on the OD unit.

    On a single stage unit it would be wired to Y or Y/Y2.
    Last edited by second opinion; 11-15-2007 at 03:20 PM. Reason: can't type and read at same time

  6. #45
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Quote Originally Posted by second opinion View Post
    Not according to my diagram. He has a gas furnace that should have "Y" and "Ylo". On the Air handler should say "Y/lo" and "Y/Y2.


    On the 16 series it should be "Y1 to Y/lo on the furnace or air handler to the OD unit yellow. and Y2 is wired through BK to yellow with red tracer on the OD unit.

    On a single stage unit it would be wired to Y or Y/Y2.
    You need to check the diagrams again.

    The XL16i requires 80% airflow for first stage.
    If you connect Y1 to Ylo in the furnace, with no power to BK, you only get 80% of 50%. That is only 40% airflow, half of what the system is supposed to have in first stage.

    The wiring diagrams and instructons are very clear that first stage goes to Y/Y2.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  7. #46
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,060

    Confused

    Quote Originally Posted by mark beiser View Post
    You need to check the diagrams again.

    The XL16i requires 80% airflow for first stage.
    If you connect Y1 to Ylo in the furnace, with no power to BK, you only get 80% of 50%. That is only 40% airflow, half of what the system is supposed to have in first stage.

    The wiring diagrams and instructons are very clear that first stage goes to Y/Y2.
    My "BAD" I need to write it before I type it. I was trying to make the point not to wire it like the 19I and got lost in thought. Sorry for any confusion I really do know the difference.

  8. #47
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    McKinney, TX
    Posts
    470
    mark is correct on the 16i wiring.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event