I am 24 with some college and will soon be starting HVAC school. I have been working in residential HVAC Intall for almost 5 months. I would like to get into commercial service and learn the business so I can start my own in a few years. If you can help me, I would be greatful.

Blake Faile

start your schooling, try and get a job with a company that does commercial hvac. Learn the trade before learning the business side. Both will benefit you in the manner you want.

The most important things to me when hiring a tech is do they have a thorough grasp of the basics. That is, do they "really" understand the refrigeration cycle and the operation of all the components in it. Also, do they understand and can they apply electrical troubleshooting.

Many of the techs I have interviewed just don't understand the fundamentals.

I would advise you while in school to concentrate on understanding the refrigeration cycle and it's components and electrical troubleshooting. After you get the fundamentals under your belt (even while in school), get a job with a contractor or OEM that will let you apply some of you newly learned knowledge.

The next thing is, do they have decent people skills. Their is nothing worse than hiring or working with a person that nobody else wants to work with. I have come across some people that are obviously very technically competent but come across as arrogant, rude, crude, or so self absorbed that they don't even realize that others don't want to be around them. When this includes peers and customers there is nothing left to do but let them go.

I would rather hire a person with good basic technical skills and good interpersonal skills than a technical superstar that is a jerk. The interesting thing is that, most of the time the jerk doesn't know he's a jerk.

I hope some of this made sense.

Good Luck

P.S. This is a great profession if you're cut out for it.