Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 53 to 65 of 70
  1. #53
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Southwest NM
    Posts
    22
    Fluke 12 stays in the bag and covers most basic stuff. Still prefer the controls over a dial for fast use, and (V) Check is really great for a quick eval on unknown wires. Fluke 337 clamp is not far behind.

    Fluke 189 for more precision, temp, dB, and duty cycle. Love the dual display and the logging rocks on big battery banks. Bought it after someone lifted my 8060A.
    Original Fluke 87 gets some use.
    Extech 380942 mini-clamp for low current stuff.

  2. #54
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    27
    Fluke179 for my main. I also have some very good craftsman meters.

  3. #55
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    4,254
    how does the fieldpiece hold up for ohming? i had a sc77 which i lost. i ohmed a compressor to ground and showed a reading. i then checked with my fluke and it showed nothing to ground. the compressor was not bad and fired right up. i was thinking of purchasing a the sc56 but wanted to know if i could rely on using the ohm function to find a shorted motor.

  4. #56
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    53
    Wow you guys carry multiple meters hey? I guess I do as well now that I have my new fieldpiece. I have a UEI clamp-on and a cheaper multi.

  5. #57
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Western, KY
    Posts
    3,226
    Quote Originally Posted by gravity View Post
    how does the fieldpiece hold up for ohming? i had a sc77 which i lost. i ohmed a compressor to ground and showed a reading. i then checked with my fluke and it showed nothing to ground. the compressor was not bad and fired right up. i was thinking of purchasing a the sc56 but wanted to know if i could rely on using the ohm function to find a shorted motor.
    Don't own one but from I've seen and read it is a very respectable meter. Know a few guys who have converted over from the HS36.

  6. #58
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    5,576
    Quote Originally Posted by gravity View Post
    how does the fieldpiece hold up for ohming? i had a sc77 which i lost. i ohmed a compressor to ground and showed a reading. i then checked with my fluke and it showed nothing to ground. the compressor was not bad and fired right up. i was thinking of purchasing a the sc56 but wanted to know if i could rely on using the ohm function to find a shorted motor.
    Could be the difference in ohm ranges. A Fluke 902 will only display up to 9,999 ohms. An SC77 will display up to 40,000,000 ohms. Anything over 500,000 ohms to ground is a passing grade, safe to run according to Copeland. Tecumseh says anything over 1,000,000 (probably just to prevent the appearance of plagarism.)

    FWIW there isn't much difference in specs between the SC77 and SC56. Both read up to 40 megohms.

  7. #59
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    3,263
    Now you guys got me curious,

    In our work why do we need such accuracy when it comes to ohms & voltage?
    All I need is something to see if I'm getting any voltage & a continuity tester.
    I admit I've never used a megger for a compressor but that's another completely different tool.
    I do on rare occasions like to get the specific ohm readings on a compressor for S,R & C to see if they add up but it rarely tells me anything I don't already know. I've had compressors that ohmed perfectly between all 3 terminals with no short to ground & still blow the fuse immediately. I guess a megger would pick that up but it doesn't happen that often & the diagnosis is still going to be the same.
    Gary
    -----------
    http://www.oceanhvac.com
    An engineer designs what he would never work on.
    A technician works on what he would never design.

  8. #60
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Beatrice, NE
    Posts
    2,307
    I carry a 902 in my box with a fluke 289 and an 87 in the truck.

    As far as the accuracy, I have had several calls where I had to find a voltage drop that was causing contact chatter, it was usually just a few volts. When the ofending contact was found it had a ohm reading that was close, but off. Most of the time you can get by because it has failed, but on a lot of the new controls you need a good reliabe meter.

  9. #61
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    44
    I've got a Fieldpiece SC76. I like it a lot, but I haven't had much chance to put it through its paces. I like the NCV beeper a lot, because I never can hang on to tip testers.

    Before this I was using a combination of a Craftsman meter (limited) and a Supco Capacitor tester(JUNK!) The Craftsman didn't have a MFD setting, or an amp clamp, or an accurate temperature setting, but was good for everything else. The Supco capacitor tester was free, thankfully, because it worked correctly once.

  10. #62
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North East Ohio
    Posts
    776
    I carry the FP SC45 and a cheap craftsman multi meter. I like the SC45 b/c its small and does everything we need in our business. I use the FP temp clamp all the time as well. I use the cheap Craftsman meter b/c its the only inexpensive multi meter I can find that isnt auto ranging. I don't like checking voltage with an auto ranging meter. Being in a heating climate, I need a non auto ranging meter to catch voltages quickly (pressure switches opening and closing)

  11. #63
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    43
    Like many others I carry a few. I have had too many times where I had to double check goofy results. Fluke and my newer Fieldpiece LC17. Replaced an older Craftsman that worked fine for many years. I like the concept of the fieldpiece with multiple heads, but I have not invested in too many yet. I do have an amp clamp for the LC17 that I can put inside covers and read amp draw remotely. Nice.

  12. #64
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    39
    I use a field piece sc76. It has the Amp clamp built in, has mfd and temp probe, it almost does everything. Why have two different meters; one for amping and one for voltage. Try this one I think you will love it I found mine on sale for 125.

  13. #65
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,480
    Hs36 and fluke 902. Love the 36 and all of the accessories. Hopefully I can buy myself a sman3 for Christmas

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event