High pressure switch
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 30
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Stratford
    Posts
    27

    High pressure switch

    What could cause a high pressure switch to trip when the unit hasn't run in 6 days. Unit was running fine for the whole summer. Homeowner says he shut it off 6 days ago. Turns it on today and the condenser wouldn't start. It's a ducane with a manual reset high pressure switch. Is it possible for it to trip if it's not running?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by BPToilman View Post
    What could cause a high pressure switch to trip when the unit hasn't run in 6 days. Unit was running fine for the whole summer. Homeowner says he shut it off 6 days ago. Turns it on today and the condenser wouldn't start. It's a ducane with a manual reset high pressure switch. Is it possible for it to trip if it's not running?
    So have you looked at the unit yet? If not I would ask, how does the home owner know its the switch? Also ditch the manual switch and hook em up with a auto one, they are cheap enough....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Stratford
    Posts
    27
    I reset the switch. I looked at it this afternoon. Funny thing is, it hasn't been hot here. Not humid and I know the unit hasn't run.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,788
    Quote Originally Posted by pecker head View Post
    ditch the manual switch and hook em up with a auto one, they are cheap enough....
    Auto high pressure?
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    81
    Lol!! I second mr Bills post! Why not do one better and just bypass the hp switch!! That'll solve your problem.. It's only a safety ...

    You reset the switch and then wat??? What readings did you get??

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    40
    Sounds like a DIY to me wrong page buddy.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,630
    Quote Originally Posted by BPToilman View Post
    What could cause a high pressure switch to trip when the unit hasn't run in 6 days. Unit was running fine for the whole summer. Homeowner says he shut it off 6 days ago. Turns it on today and the condenser wouldn't start. It's a ducane with a manual reset high pressure switch. Is it possible for it to trip if it's not running?

    A couple things cn cause what your describing. Most likely it did run(for a few seconds), and then the HPS tripped.
    Need to take pressure nd temp readings to find out the cause of the high pressure.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Stratford
    Posts
    27
    Not a do it yourself buddy. It was 9:30 at night. No pressure readings. Didn't know if it was possible for pressures to spike on the start like that after it had run fun and there wasn't a heavy load on the unit.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,630
    They can, seen it on more then one.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Stratford
    Posts
    27
    Looks like the txv is sticking. I had a high side pressure of 390 and a suction line pressure of 125. 80 degrees out here today. I couldnt see the pressures fluctuate at all.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    3,783
    dirty coil, over charged, oil logging in condenser, no fan.....

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    3,783
    what do you mean txv is sticking? looks like r410a? those pressures look like the valve is open to me.

    80* ambient and 390 hi side???

    dirty coil or over charged

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Stratford
    Posts
    27
    I would think that with the pressure that high it would be closed, or stuck half way open? I know the coil is clean. It is 410

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event