Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    59

    One can only ask customers to listen....

    So what part of "don't run the system until we come back to replace the evaporator coil" did we not explain properly? ... The homeowner put the quick disconnect back on outside and took it upon himself to run the system with low freon, and on top of that the water got into the control board and fried it costing him a lot more money than he needed to spend. when I told them the evap was frozen they said they did not run the system since i left 24 hrs ago.....
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    central Florida
    Posts
    154
    Wow not suprising though.Customers always know more than the tech. How bad was it frozen when you diagnosed it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Afton, VA / Khorat, Thailand
    Posts
    2,469
    Yea, you gotta remove control wires too or inquiring minds will fool with things they aren't supposed to fool with......
    Tough times don't last...Tough people do.

    Midnight Sun Astrophotography

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    835
    I take the disconnect plug-in block with me. If it's one of those ****ae Square D's that look like a breaker, I'll pull that sucker out.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Barrie Ontario
    Posts
    318
    All you can do is recommend if they wanna run it let them just means more money in your pocket when they burn something else up.
    For some reason I learn more with my mouth shut

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    613
    You guys don't top the system off so they can use it while you source a coil?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    835
    Quote Originally Posted by jimmyed View Post
    You guys don't top the system off so they can use it while you source a coil?
    Did that very thing last week.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    995

    As long

    Quote Originally Posted by jimmyed View Post
    You guys don't top the system off so they can use it while you source a coil?
    as the customer pays for the juice. Some don't want to spend the extra $.
    GO NAVY, BEAT ARMY!

    A DECADE OF DOMINANCE! +2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    613
    We always top them off, charge for gas, source coil, pump down and charge for whatever leaked out.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    59
    The coil was frozen when diagnosed. It was in the attic. Temp was 120f+ in there. Should have thawed out in a few hours. i never try to add freon when frozen.

    Sent from my LG-MS690 using Tapatalk 2

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Paper Street Soap Company
    Posts
    2,304
    it looks heavy

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    If you cut the sewer pipe on there toilet some of them would still **** in it and then expect you to stand in it while you fix it ha ha.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    If you cut the sewer pipe on there toilet some of them would still **** in it and then expect you to stand in it while you fix it ha ha.
    It kinda kills me a little inside how right you are.

    We were redoing some drain piping in a customer's basement ceiling and they kept running water through it, even after being reminded several times.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event