Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 23 of 23
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Englewood, CO
    Posts
    135
    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    I tested voltage on outlet and found 220. We grabbed a diff unit to finish, but a few months ago I tried the g5 and it still worked lol, just not as good.
    If it's still running, you might only have damaged the capacitor. Open up the unit and test the capacitance, should be about 200MFD. It probably is reading low, so replacing that might just get the unit running smoothly again. Call us at the factory if you need help getting the replacement.
    Christian Pena - Appion Inc.

    For faster evacuation, C.O.F.F.: Clean Oil, Full Flow

  2. #15
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    Quote Originally Posted by Appion-ChrisP View Post
    If it's still running, you might only have damaged the capacitor. Open up the unit and test the capacitance, should be about 200MFD. It probably is reading low, so replacing that might just get the unit running smoothly again. Call us at the factory if you need help getting the replacement.
    Sweet thanks for the tip, it still works but really slow. I will have an rtu to recover soon so maybe I will check it out. Thanks again


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    some freezing metal shed somewheres
    Posts
    28
    appion g5 twin turbo, only prob is i usually have to cool the recovery tanks. otherwise it runs like a dream, and i have beat the crap out of it for the past 5 years. get some spare guages for the face when you buy it, the spring guages tend to pop apart if you deadhead it for any reason.

    this thread tells me i need to buy some stock in appion, no other brand was even mentioned!

  4. #17
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    I pulled it apart and this is what I found. It reads 206 mfd.Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1350403000.779500.jpg
Views: 133
Size:  49.0 KBName:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1350403030.710268.jpg
Views: 153
Size:  38.2 KB
    Looks like rough though


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,749
    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    We had to change a mini split on a roof with no outlets. It was a weird situation had an electrician there who got us outlet wired. We hooked up and shortly after saw the magic smoke and shut it down. I tested voltage on outlet and found 220. We grabbed a diff unit to finish, but a few months ago I tried the g5 and it still worked lol, just not as good. Still haven't figured out a good way to tell my boss. Must be a tough unit.
    Did the same with mine. Twice in a row. I thought it was refer. the first time.
    Still works and haven't gotten around to see how tore up it got.
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  6. #19
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    Quote Originally Posted by itsiceman View Post
    Did the same with mine. Twice in a row. I thought it was refer. the first time.
    Still works and haven't gotten around to see how tore up it got.
    That makes me feel better lol, stuff happens I guess


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Fremont, Indiana
    Posts
    1,555
    Quote Originally Posted by matt1124 View Post
    G5 Twin. Quit looking at others and trust us, you won't be dissapointed.
    THIS
    Only problem I am having is purging the liq ref from the unit? Holds about +- a LB or so.
    I use a subcooler for reclaiming and it really improves recovery time 3 fold.
    Member of the "Work Exchange Program"
    "Will work for knowledge"

    "Everyone is a genius. But if you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid"
    A Einstein

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Orange County, in a Galaxy far far away...
    Posts
    277
    My company provides g5 twin for everyone to use. Great machine, compact size, takes a beating in the back of the van, recovers fast and just runs without any headaches.
    I plan on making my own sub cooler with some 3/8" and a scrubs bucket...

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NW Louisiana
    Posts
    159
    Appion. They are on EBAY new and used at attractive prices.

    CT

  10. #23
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    I put a cap in our g5 today seems like it worked ok


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event