lineset thru a block wall
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,504
    When you install a residential a/c unit and go thru a block wall with the lineset, what do you seal the hole with? I have heard that you should never let mortar come in contact with the liquid line due to corrosion.

    Any thoughts?
    Buy American! The job you save may be your own.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    143

    super

    I have always ran the lineset in 1 1/2" conduit thru the concrete then seal with foam in the conduit

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    574
    Towns around here it's code to put a sleeve thought any cement/block wall.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,504
    Originally posted by cyro
    Towns around here it's code to put a sleeve thought any cement/block wall.
    What type of sleeve do you use?
    Buy American! The job you save may be your own.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Grottoes VA
    Posts
    5,856
    2" PVC sleeve and 100% silicone to seal.
    Karst means cave. So, I search for caves.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    143

    super

    1 1/2" or 2" conduit have long sweeps as well as straight pipe... sometimes you cant go straight into the wall but come at a 45 or 90... also silicone is probably better than spray foam for water seal if that is concern

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,504
    Thanks for the suggestions. I have a customer (neighbor)that has his lineset mortared in and he is concerned that it will corrode. I have never seen one get a leak when sealed in mortar, have any of you?
    Buy American! The job you save may be your own.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Rapid City, SD
    Posts
    7,414
    I would think it's more likely to rub through with the slight vibration than corrode it's way though. Either way it'd be a good idea to correct it. Even if you just pry it up and fill under there with silicone that'd be better than nothing.

    For going through block (or anything for that matter) I like to use the thimbles from the thermopan guys.
    "If you call that hard work, a koala’s life would look heroic."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    7,405
    Here is what Amick is talking about. Just scroll down the page a little, you'll see it.



    http://www.descoenergy.com/duct_system-18.htm

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    7,405
    Oh, BTW I don't endorse this DIY site. Googled it ....lol.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    143

    super

    the acid in mortor..concrete will eatup copper.
    for fix I suggest cutting a length of pipe in half and installing after carfully chippin out mortor around lineset

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    manitowoc wisconsin
    Posts
    4,943
    Originally posted by karsthuntr
    2" PVC sleeve and 100% silicone to seal.
    To each his own.urethane is my preferrence.Dymonic by tremco is good stuff.
    Take your time & do it right!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event