Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: 3-ton unit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    20
    is a 3-ton unit to big for a 1300 sq. ft. house

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    chicago suburbs
    Posts
    4,422
    are the windows open or closed?
    FILL OUT YOUR PROFILE!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Memphis
    Posts
    2,502
    Originally posted by tinner73
    are the windows open or closed?
    Muhahahaha you crack me up tinner.
    Life is like a jar of jalapenos. What you do today might burn your ass tomorrow.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Do the required load calculation right here,

    http://hvaccomputer.com/talkref.asp

    for a small fee.Or call around and find a Pro to do it for yoy,for a fee,that will be credited to you if you buy the system from them.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    108
    now i do have a 1200 sq ft commercial metal building on a slab, quite a few windows, normal insulation in walls & ceiling, sheetrock walls, carpet floors. Hvac guy figured 3 ton unit with his load calculation last year. Seemed kind of large at the time but now summer has hit, its not one big too large. In fact any smaller and it would have struggled to keep it at 77 degrees.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    20
    one guy told me 3-ton ,another person said 2-ton, which one do i listen to .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    1,398
    The one that measured your house and performed the load calculations.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    20
    i gave two people my room measurments , window sizes , and ceiling heights , and the both came up with one saying a 3-ton will be to large and the 2-ton will be alright . and the other one said visa - vesa.

    [Edited by gmcwelder on 08-22-2006 at 05:39 PM]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    9,548
    The load calc on this site would be money well spent. You might need a 2.5 ton. Noone knows without performing a load calc. The "rule of dumb(thumb)" is 1 ton per 500 sq ft, which can oversize by today's standards as houses are built tighter.
    If everything was always done "by the book"....the book would never change.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    SFL
    Posts
    80
    3 ton I think they meant a 300 ton chiller

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    SW FL
    Posts
    6,428

    Exclamation It's all set Now !

    Originally posted by gmcwelder
    one guy told me 3-ton ,another person said 2-ton, which one do i listen to .
    Send plans & specs ...
    I'll break the TIE.

    2-ton in MN
    3-ton in Coasta Rica

    2.5 ton in between
    Designer Dan
    It's Not Rocket Science, But It is SCIENCE with "Some Art". ___ ___ K EEP I T S IMPLE & S INCERE

    Define the Building Envelope and Perform a Detailed Load Calc: It's ALL About Windows and Make-up Air Requirements. Know Your Equipment Capabilities

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event