over amping blower assembly
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    3,031

    over amping blower assembly

    Carrier water cooled omnizone package unit
    model 50XCW16AAQG6AA0AA

    brand new install

    blower motor rated at 4.3FLA...pulling 9.1, tripping safety reset on contactor

    remove belt motor pulls 2.5 ?????

    motor had rust inside on shaft and around body

    called carrier...they sent new motor

    same exact result

    WTF????

    any ideas?
    “If I have seen further than others, it is by standing upon the shoulders of giants.” ~ Sir Isaac Newton


    I'm learning all the time, the tombstone will be my diploma!!!


    Did you ever stop to think, and forget to start again?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Phoenix,AZ
    Posts
    2,834
    Shive correct? Voltage correct? Wired correct?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    3,031
    Quote Originally Posted by KB Cool View Post
    Shive correct? Voltage correct? Wired correct?
    Supply Voltage concerns me a LIL...445v

    fan pulley also caught my attention...seems small...but its the standard from carrier..
    “If I have seen further than others, it is by standing upon the shoulders of giants.” ~ Sir Isaac Newton


    I'm learning all the time, the tombstone will be my diploma!!!


    Did you ever stop to think, and forget to start again?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    892
    Moving too much air ?

    Are the panels in place ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    17,721
    Are you saying that you have 445 on a 460 unit, or is it something else?

    A small motor sheave would not increase your draw. A small blower sheave would.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    3,031
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    Are you saying that you have 445 on a 460 unit, or is it something else?

    A small motor sheave would not increase your draw. A small blower sheave would.
    yes i have 445 on 460 unit
    “If I have seen further than others, it is by standing upon the shoulders of giants.” ~ Sir Isaac Newton


    I'm learning all the time, the tombstone will be my diploma!!!


    Did you ever stop to think, and forget to start again?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    5,297
    Check to see if it's single phasing. Was the cover on when you took those amp readings?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Miami, FL.
    Posts
    415
    Is the motor rpm correct? Did they send you a 3450 rpm instead of a 1725 rpm?

    Check your pulley ratio.

    As mentioned above recheck your wiring connections and make sure you don't have a dropped phase.
    I miss you mom and dad.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,281
    Your pecker head wiring is either wrong or not making a connection

    Don't assume because it is nutted that it is making a connection

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,329
    Check amps on all 3 legs.

    i don't think that having the panels off would cause that kind of overload.

    I'm thinking single phase or wrong motor like someone else said.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Kent, WA.
    Posts
    184
    The low voltage concerns me. A 460 unit actually is around 480. Now if you have a motor designed to run at 480v and you have 445 your amp draw will increase at the motor to maintain the design rpm. You can play with some fan laws to change sheaves to get your amps down to nameplate but then your cfm would suffer. I would look into the low incoming voltage.
    Experience
    Is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted.

    A positive attidude will not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worthwhile.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dallas ,Texas
    Posts
    3,699
    Quote Originally Posted by Tommy1010 View Post
    yes i have 445 on 460 unit
    The book says that 414 is the lowest allowable voltage.
    UA 100

    It takes three people to do anything around here. Two do the work, one explains to the crowd of people who showed up when they seen smoke and flames.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Orange County, in a Galaxy far far away...
    Posts
    274
    Check motor windings, check connections and fuses at disco box. Also take your infrared gun and check heat differential across line and load terminals in disco box. Generally anything above 3-4 deg is bad. I would also check continuity in all wires involved with blower. It's behaving like its wrong voltage or single phasingq. Dig in and find the answer!
    You cannot cheat an honest man. But that doesn't stop people trying!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event