Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 17

Thread: carrier clo

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    plano,IL
    Posts
    28

    carrier clo

    Carrier
    m: 48hjd012-h-571hy
    I have gone through the site and found countless threads about these relays. And I think i get them and what causes them to trip.

    The issue i didnt see addressed is I am having both clos lock out. I reset unit and cycled. both stages were running 68/325psi. split coils and washed out. 68/245 after coils dried out. Got called back to site later in day, find both locked out again. pressures 72/285, ambient 95 store at 88. I have installed manual switches on discharge line to test overnight. If one locks out it shouldnt lock out the second stage( unless a cond. fan motor is dropping out while Im away) cond fan motors running at 1.3 each rated at 1.3
    comps running at 17.6 and 15.2 both rated at 17.6.... form the ambient I wasnt concerned it was running at RLA.....

    Anything I may be missing. Will be returning to the site in the morning for a revisit and to dig a lil deeper.

    Thanx guys

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bristol NH
    Posts
    229
    Quote Originally Posted by mpr73 View Post
    Carrier
    m: 48hjd012-h-571hy
    I have gone through the site and found countless threads about these relays. And I think i get them and what causes them to trip.

    The issue i didnt see addressed is I am having both clos lock out. I reset unit and cycled. both stages were running 68/325psi. split coils and washed out. 68/245 after coils dried out. Got called back to site later in day, find both locked out again. pressures 72/285, ambient 95 store at 88. I have installed manual switches on discharge line to test overnight. If one locks out it shouldnt lock out the second stage( unless a cond. fan motor is dropping out while Im away) cond fan motors running at 1.3 each rated at 1.3
    comps running at 17.6 and 15.2 both rated at 17.6.... form the ambient I wasnt concerned it was running at RLA.....

    Anything I may be missing. Will be returning to the site in the morning for a revisit and to dig a lil deeper.

    Thanx guys
    The only things that can cause the close to drop is high pressure, low pressure, freeze state on evaporator or internal compressor protection. Usually these have both fans running off stage 1 contractors so If it goes. Stage 2is right behind it. I would thoroughly check stage 1 wiring to and from clo. A loose 24v connection or bad #1clo can do this too. Good luck

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dallas ,Texas
    Posts
    3,720
    What the stat set for? Filters clean , belt good? Airflow?
    UA 100

    It takes three people to do anything around here. Two do the work, one explains to the crowd of people who showed up when they seen smoke and flames.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    plano,IL
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by Dallas Duster View Post
    What the stat set for? Filters clean , belt good? Airflow?
    stat at 72, clean filters installed today, belt in good condition and tensioned right

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dallas ,Texas
    Posts
    3,720
    Quote Originally Posted by mpr73 View Post
    stat at 72, clean filters installed today, belt in good condition and tensioned right
    What does the economiser board look like?
    UA 100

    It takes three people to do anything around here. Two do the work, one explains to the crowd of people who showed up when they seen smoke and flames.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    southern california
    Posts
    30
    Maybe put a tattle tale on the safeties that aren't manual reset. Low press and freeze stat.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Paper Street Soap Company
    Posts
    2,304
    It also has a CT on that lockout board thats looking for a current signal.

    If you get a signal at Y1,2 and that board doesnt see a current indication it will lock out the circuit.

    A chattering relay will lock those things out.

    An intermittant fan signal will lock them out causing the freeze stat to trip.

    Could be a bad lockout board too

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dallas ,Texas
    Posts
    3,720
    Quote Originally Posted by Six View Post
    It also has a CT on that lockout board thats looking for a current signal.

    If you get a signal at Y1,2 and that board doesnt see a current indication it will lock out the circuit.

    A chattering relay will lock those things out.

    An intermittant fan signal will lock them out causing the freeze stat to trip.

    Could be a bad lockout board too
    Two bad CLO`s?
    UA 100

    It takes three people to do anything around here. Two do the work, one explains to the crowd of people who showed up when they seen smoke and flames.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    miami,fl.
    Posts
    634
    i seen one doing the same thing. the one i was working on had one freeze stat wired in series with both contactors. so once it opens it will lock out both.
    make sure the evap coil is clean not just the face of the coil but inside. 68 low with 88 inside the space maybe at night your lo side is dropping lower and cutting out both circuits on freeze stat. just an issue i ran into. i put tattle tales also but the clo would pick up the fault not allowing the tattle tale to trip.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dallas ,Texas
    Posts
    3,720
    Quote Originally Posted by anthonyac1 View Post
    i seen one doing the same thing. the one i was working on had one freeze stat wired in series with both contactors. so once it opens it will lock out both.
    make sure the evap coil is clean not just the face of the coil but inside. 68 low with 88 inside the space maybe at night your lo side is dropping lower and cutting out both circuits on freeze stat. just an issue i ran into. i put tattle tales also but the clo would pick up the fault not allowing the tattle tale to trip.
    I agree the freeze stat is on the common side of the compressor contactors.
    UA 100

    It takes three people to do anything around here. Two do the work, one explains to the crowd of people who showed up when they seen smoke and flames.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Southwest
    Posts
    114
    I am going the route of an overheating condenser fan.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    southern california
    Posts
    30
    If safeties are on common side of contactor swap wiring to put them on hot side and then maybe a tattle tale will trip.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Sacramento area
    Posts
    69

    Question Cond Fan Motor

    I'd recommend checking for condenser fan motor bearing play. If the shaft moves side to side even a tiny amount, it will overheat and shut off after running a few hours on a hot day.

    Regarding tattle tales: Instead, you can wire a very small fuse, such as 1/100 amp or slightly larger in parallel with each safety that will lock out the circuit. When you return and the CLO locked it off, see which fuse blew. If they're all good, then most likely the compressor was not drawing amperage on a call for cooling.
    I'm still learning this trade.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event