Buying a Foreclosure for First Home - Need HVAC Help

Hello,

First of all, thanks for helping me out, or at least looking to help me out. I read the rules and I believe I am in the right section.

I live in Columbus, OH and here are the current pricing for both electric and gas:

$0.0669 per kWh (Electric)
    $0.54276 per hundred ccf (Gas)

My Situation is as follows:
    I am buying a foreclosed home that needs the gas furnace, the a/c and the water heater (for anyone knowledgeable in that area) replaced. We're getting a good deal on the home, so the expense in getting my **First** (so please bear with me, never really had to do much HVAC) home energy efficient and ready to be enjoyed is not really an issue, but of course, I'd like to save as much as possible.

My home is a Bi-Level 1,192sq ft. I do not know the specifics of the furnace or the A/C unit due to limited time in the home. I wish I paid better attention, but I'm new at the whole thing. We have approximately 10 windows and a sliding door on the lower level that exits to the backyard. We also have a glass door leading to a balcony on the upper level. The inspection is next week, so I'll be getting contractors to to fill-in and update the insulation as I have the funds for, and I will also be replacing the windows when I get the chance, probably within the next 12-18 months.

I was originally looking at just replacing the furnace and the A/C, until I stumbled on Heat Pumps. I know this isn't a huge house, I know the basics about the heat pumps, but I am still unsure about whether or not it can be used as a stand alone unit, or getting a dual-fuel unit would be better. Also, since I'll be in a time-crunch (getting a FHA 203k loan) to get the renovations done, I won't have too much time to hunt down contractors and price a lot.

I came here to get a basic idea about what HVAC system will work best for me, the general sizing of the units and what I should avoid as well as what I should look for.