Had to hang one, on it's side. - Page 2
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 53
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    581
    Quote Originally Posted by CoolWine View Post
    nice and clean install.

    small nitpick..steel straps on lineset.
    They are lined with foam tape




    We never do anything with the secondary drain, no one around here does. If it has a overflow pan then we put a float switch in it.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    17,778
    I must be blind, because I dont see an auxiliary drain pan???

    Looks great btw!
    "Politicians are the lowest form of life on Earth. Liberal Democrats are the lowest form of politician"

    - General George S. Patton

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    54
    Great job, its nice to see someone put that extra time and effort in.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    581
    Quote Originally Posted by coolwhip View Post
    I must be blind, because I dont see an auxiliary drain pan???

    Looks great btw!

    Why does it need one? Sink under it with a concrete floor and floor drain?

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    59
    Very nice work. Judging from the attention to detail I bet you got pressures right on the money, sh and sc to spec... I like the way the line set is just perfectly routed. I dont see anything wrong with that setup. Keep up the good work, thanks for sharing..

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    581
    I came back after the building was down to temp and it was hot out to set pressures.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Tallahassee,Fl
    Posts
    144
    Here in Florida near the coast you have to put the dryer inside or it won't last.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Near Chicago Il.
    Posts
    124
    Quote Originally Posted by jimmyed View Post
    Why does it need one? Sink under it with a concrete floor and floor drain?
    I think he just meant that a couple ppl commented that you needed a float switch in a pan that isn't there that he couldn't see, and either could I.
    I never put a safety pan with a switch in either unless it was in an attic, on a rare occasion, on a first floor set up.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW AR
    Posts
    2,478
    By code we have to put a float switch in every install, wether it be in an attic or closet. It is a code I do agree with.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    42
    not too hateful....wierd spot though

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fuquay Varina, N.C.
    Posts
    417
    Nice install, I would have liked to see a condensate float switch on the overflow, where is the trap for the condensate drain?
    I know that Carried recommends that the filter drier be placed by the indoor unit, I take it that other manufacturers are also doing the same. Nice clean install.
    RSES Member.
    Mainstream Engineering Certified.
    HVAC/R PM Technician.
    410A, & GREEN HVAC/R Technician.
    NATE Core.
    Working not as to please men but to the Glory of Christ my KING.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    581
    Trap is down low, tied it into the sink drain. EZ trap.

    We don't use overflow switches. Why all the sudden everyone pushing them with a horizontal application?

    I have only been to 1 install we did to unclog a drain. Unico system in an attic with about 40' of drain with 6" of fall over that length. Took a few years but it finally plugged. Blow it out with nitro every spring now when we change filter. Takes an extra 5 minutes.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fuquay Varina, N.C.
    Posts
    417
    Quote Originally Posted by jimmyed View Post
    Trap is down low, tied it into the sink drain. EZ trap.

    We don't use overflow switches. Why all the sudden everyone pushing them with a horizontal application?

    I have only been to 1 install we did to unclog a drain. Unico system in an attic with about 40' of drain with 6" of fall over that length. Took a few years but it finally plugged. Blow it out with nitro every spring now when we change filter. Takes an extra 5 minutes.
    I guess because of the amount of wet floors and ceilings I have had to deal with, especially this year, might be my location that I deal with, whenever I have a flood situation I install a float switch so I do not have to deal with wet carpets and ceilings again, though I have seen them fail too.
    RSES Member.
    Mainstream Engineering Certified.
    HVAC/R PM Technician.
    410A, & GREEN HVAC/R Technician.
    NATE Core.
    Working not as to please men but to the Glory of Christ my KING.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event