Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 40 to 52 of 86
  1. #40
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Paper Street Soap Company
    Posts
    2,304
    Sweet !

    Hows it run ? Ssh ? subcool ?

    Did you have to adjust the TXV ?

  2. #41
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bristol NH
    Posts
    229
    Quote Originally Posted by Six View Post
    Sweet !

    Hows it run ? Ssh ? subcool ?

    Did you have to adjust the TXV ?
    I just started it about 15 min ago.
    Is there a formula for getting the require sub cooling? I have a slide rule but you have to start off with the right sc number and Carrier doesn't know because it used to be fixed. Just use a rule of thumb?

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  3. #42
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Paper Street Soap Company
    Posts
    2,304
    Quote Originally Posted by boilerman856 View Post
    I just started it about 15 min ago.
    Is there a formula for getting the require sub cooling? I have a slide rule but you have to start off with the right sc number and Carrier doesn't know because it used to be fixed. Just use a rule of thumb?

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2
    U just need to make sure you have a good liquid seal. 10 to 12 subcooling.

  4. #43
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    I'm glad I seen this thread awhile back, our senior tech didn't know anything about this and I was able to bring it up and act like I was the resident expert lol. We currently have an RTU with this problem. Thanks

  5. #44
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    4,478
    i just did this on a small 4 ton carrier rtu. mine came with stubs that go into the coil then the header goes into the stubs.

    what a PITA it was. had no room to work and panels couldn't come off to make more room. i got it done and holding pressure

    over night at 155psi. it was quitting time. will be back there at 7am to check pressure test and vacuum it down.

    wish i had the header you got to replace. alot more room to work on yours. think my unit was 48tjd004 its from 1995

  6. #45
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    Our parts guy said for some reason they would only sell us the whole coil, at 3 grand that's crap. I'm guessing that's with our markup.

  7. #46
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    4,478
    your parts guy is full of .... lol. took a couple days to get my header in

  8. #47
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    Quote Originally Posted by gravity View Post
    your parts guy is full of .... lol. took a couple days to get my header in
    I thought the same thing, why the home damn coil. Sounds like a lazy salesman or something, or lazy parts man who dont want to dial the phone again. I'm sure the costumer will love the price he gets after he just dropped I bunch on a new compressor. I hate these messes and in glad in not involved.

  9. #48
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Phoenix,AZ
    Posts
    2,895
    I'm still trying to figure out why Trane and Carrier use these things. What's the benefit versus a Standard piston or TXV coil? Idiots!!!!!

  10. #49
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    4,478
    thats funny. i just replaced a compressor in the unit im working on. started up new compressor and there was frost on all orifice tubes.....(thinking in my head) "that sucks. guess i gotta get a new header manifold"

    dont know why they use them. would like a txv. trane has a txv retrofit kit. carrier still has not made one of these retrofit kits yet.

  11. #50
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    Quote Originally Posted by gravity View Post
    thats funny. i just replaced a compressor in the unit im working on. started up new compressor and there was frost on all orifice tubes.....(thinking in my head) "that sucks. guess i gotta get a new header manifold"

    dont know why they use them. would like a txv. trane has a txv retrofit kit. carrier still has not made one of these retrofit kits yet.
    Damn that sucks lol, this was an out of town Job, we gave them a price to replace compressor after a diff company diagnosed it, we verified before we did the work. We had unit running but it was icing up, it was raining and crappy out so we left, the other tech went back and got it running ok but noted low suction. Shorty after ac was out, went there and unit was empty, the tech charged it looked for a leak and couldn't find one, I think he assumed a shredder was leaking. No ac again, found a brand new contractor bad, then shorty after the charge was lost again, I put die in and found a hole in evap, it blew out after compressor because it held pressure with nitro. Fixed it and then this issue happened. I'm not the guy who worked on unit for the most part but it's just a bad situation.

  12. #51
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    Sorry for the poor quality of that last post, my wife was next to me complaining that I wasn't talking to her lol

  13. #52
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Phoenix,AZ
    Posts
    2,895
    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    Damn that sucks lol, this was an out of town Job, we gave them a price to replace compressor after a diff company diagnosed it, we verified before we did the work. We had unit running but it was icing up, it was raining and crappy out so we left, the other tech went back and got it running ok but noted low suction. Shorty after ac was out, went there and unit was empty, the tech charged it looked for a leak and couldn't find one, I think he assumed a shredder was leaking. No ac again, found a brand new contractor bad, then shorty after the charge was lost again, I put die in and found a hole in evap, it blew out after compressor because it held pressure with nitro. Fixed it and then this issue happened. I'm not the guy who worked on unit for the most part but it's just a bad situation.
    What a nightmare!!!Sounds like your customer would have been better off replacing the unit!!! But, tell them to buy a Goodman instead!!!

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event