Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: LRA

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    34

    Confused LRA

    On the condenser data plates you find the LRA. I assume this is the locked rotor amps. What exactly does this mean?? I had a small 1.5 ton unit today I'm pretty sure has a mechanical problem in the compressor. The compressor was shaking violently and drawing more amps than the LRA.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dillwyn, VA
    Posts
    43
    If compressor is pulling LRA then it needs to be replaced.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dillwyn, VA
    Posts
    43
    The LRA on the plate is what that compressor is tested at. I have seen alot of units run past that rating but not very long.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,060
    Quote Originally Posted by hvac meister View Post
    On the condenser data plates you find the LRA. I assume this is the locked rotor amps. What exactly does this mean?? I had a small 1.5 ton unit today I'm pretty sure has a mechanical problem in the compressor. The compressor was shaking violently and drawing more amps than the LRA.
    Your amp probe is defective!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    353
    I could see it run more the RLA, but I don't think it is possible to be more than the locked rotor amps... and be doing anything other than fireworks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,987
    Quote Originally Posted by hvac meister View Post
    On the condenser data plates you find the LRA. I assume this is the locked rotor amps. What exactly does this mean??
    It is motor amp draw with the rotor "locked". It will be the maximum amp draw you should expect on start up.
    If the only tool you have is a hammer, you tend to see every problem as a nail. Abraham Maslow

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Toronto,Ontario Canada
    Posts
    355
    usually when any motor pulls anything close to the LRA it needs replacing

    * remember this RLA x 5 = LRA (approx estimate)
    This comes in handy when the rating plate is gone and you wanna know what the LRA is.
    Get er Done!

    Do what has to be done
    when it has to be done
    as well as it has to be done
    And doing it all the time.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Marshalltown, IA (The new rainforest)
    Posts
    699
    I had this happen as well, it was an '06 Goodman with a compressor drawing 198, LRA was 165. The scrolls must have come loose, as it was just rattling around inside before stopping that to just hum and then trip the breaker. Replace that junker!
    "It's not an OLD unit, it's a testament to old school manufacturing of quality over quantity." http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/m...608_092209.jpg

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,733
    Should have blown the fuse or breaker quick.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Marshalltown, IA (The new rainforest)
    Posts
    699
    It lasted about two seconds before the breaker tripped. If it's pulling that kind of amps and DOESN'T trip the breaker? Try a hard start kit first. That's a sure-fire way to condemn the compressor.
    "It's not an OLD unit, it's a testament to old school manufacturing of quality over quantity." http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/m...608_092209.jpg

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    34
    Sorry everyone.... I meant the RLA rating is 10.6. Rated Load Amps. Check out this link I found on an earlier thread... https://opi.emersonclimate.com/CPID/...AEB/ae1250.pdf

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event