Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Trane Statitrac

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,336

    Trane Statitrac

    Looking for a voltage to pressure chart for a Intelipak's space pressure sensor.

    Unit keeps alarming on space pressure sensor and reading is way high.

    -Transducer and calibration solenoid are new.
    -Swapped control boards with like unit.
    -Calibration is at 0.200vdc.
    -Input stays at 5.00vdc
    -If I unplug the sensor harness from the board, it reads ok (0.350vdc), then slowly climbs
    -Space pressure stays steady as the voltage rises
    -I replaced all tubing, other then tubing into space
    -What's weird is reading going negative when opening return panels? Actual reading stays pretty much the same.

    I'm lost.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Paper Street Soap Company
    Posts
    2,304
    Tubing connected to the wrong ports on the transducer ?

    You should have High and low connection points.

    That sensor would be either direct or reverse acting.

    Temp sensors are positive and negative coeffecient.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,336
    Quote Originally Posted by Six View Post
    Tubing connected to the wrong ports on the transducer ?

    You should have High and low connection points.
    Yeah.....everything is connected properly. I was measuring actual static with a manometer tee'd into the OA and Building tubing right at the sensor.

    It's almost like the sensor is reading backwards or it's the wrong sensor. I double checked the part number with Trane and I don't see how I'm getting the voltages, if the wiring was wrong.

    Here's a picture of the space pressure transducer, I replaced.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Paper Street Soap Company
    Posts
    2,304
    You said when you unpugged the sensor from the control board you're reading 350 millivolts dc and it climbs all the way to 5 vdc.

    Is that at the sensor plug and if yes how are you getting power ?

    For voltage to resitance you should be able to take the scale of the transducerfor (ex. 0 to 1.0" wc ) and plot a on a graph in a 1/10ths or 100 millivolt scale ( should get you close ) up to 5 volts DC.

    Actually according to a pdf its out put scale is .25 to 4.0 VDC with a 5 volt input. So you're voltage scale wouldn't be 0 to 5 VDC.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,336
    Quote Originally Posted by Six View Post
    You said when you unpugged the sensor from the control board you're reading 350 millivolts dc and it climbs all the way to 5 vdc.

    Is that at the sensor plug and if yes how are you getting power ?

    For voltage to resitance you should be able to take the scale of the transducerfor (ex. 0 to 1.0" wc ) and plot a on a graph in a 1/10ths or 100 millivolt scale ( should get you close ) up to 5 volts DC.
    It never climbs to 5vdc. It's 3 wires. Input, output, and com. Input always reading 5vdc. It's the output to the control board that with slowly climb once plugged in.

    I don't know what scale the sensor is.......hence my original question. It's about 0.90vdc to cap the reading out at 0.50"wc. But it's tough to guage, due to the calibration and delay within the UPC.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    122

    transducer

    It should be .70 vdc at .50 I.W.C. Scale is from 0-4 vdc, -.2 I.W.C.to 5.0 I.W.C. This is directly out of the IOM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event