Testo 550 on sale. Worth it? - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 22 of 22
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Athens, Ohio
    Posts
    1,650
    I like my SMAN3 alot. When it had an internal leak I called Fieldpiece and they authorized an exchange for a new set at the supply house. I was back in business in an hour.
    Why do some of you not like the SMAN3? Why is the Testo better?

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,471
    Quote Originally Posted by rufus819 View Post
    250 plus rebate is a STEAL! do it!
    Not if it is the original version IMO
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,471
    Well not if you ship the broke one back and they give you a new version. That shouldn't take that long
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    218
    I got a set of 550's in the winter and they must have been the old version. Pd 330.00 and they included some clamp for ground instead of built into the pipe clamp. After the first few normal uses the hanging hook broke, will not hold pressure when using leak test mode, pipe clamp connector pins broken and the pressures never hold steady, constantly fluctuating during use. I was excited to get them having a testo co detector that I use but I'm very disappointed with the digi's. They are nothing more than dust collectors in my truck now. I'm very careful and take care of my tools too.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    14
    I'll take any digital over a analog anyday. To me each manufacture has its strong points. Do a side by side feature and warranty and choose which features you use most. Either way you go it will be better than analog.

  6. #19
    You guys with the testo 550's do you hang the gauges in your van/truck with the clamps attached or do you put them in the case after every use?

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Hot Springs, Arkansas, United States
    Posts
    55
    I have the sman3 and love it. It is like a GPS for troubleshooting. I guess you can get a good or bad anything these days. I still have a set of old Imperial gauges from 1986 that work like new. These digitals have a lot to live up to. I've seen a lot of folks that swear by (and sometimes at) their 550's
    Last edited by Thorazine; 08-14-2012 at 09:51 PM. Reason: after thought

  8. #21
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    789
    I put them in the case

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    701
    Quote Originally Posted by jkbass79 View Post
    You guys with the testo 550's do you hang the gauges in your van/truck with the clamps attached or do you put them in the case after every use?
    I Keep it in the case, had it for almost two years, no problems.


    Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event