Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 15
  1. #1

    Condensor Change-out

    I am having my condensor changed out (from r-22 to r-410a) as well as the refridgent lines. Do I need to have the evaporator coil cleaned (internal) before hook-up...?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    16,115
    Are you using your old R-22 evaporator? and is it still setup for R-22?
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    4,367
    Change the evap coil. 410 operates at nearly twice the pressure than 22. If you don't have a leak now, you will soon.
    If a nation expects to be ignorant and free, in a state of civilization, it expects what will never be. (Thomas Jefferson 1816)

  4. #4
    I was planning to reuse the existing coil, is that a problem...?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Zelienople, Pa
    Posts
    2,965
    Quote Originally Posted by Inside View View Post
    I was planning to reuse the existing coil, is that a problem...?
    The evap coil needs to be a rated match to the outdoor unit. Esp 410A or you can expect major issues in the near future...
    How tall are you Private???!!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,677
    You could post model and serial of the evaporator coil

    Some manufacturers allow use of some existing evaporators (Carrier/BDP for example)
    with a few things done to them.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,761
    we never reuse a r-22 coil for r-410, no way to make sure you got enough of the old oil out.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,060
    Quote Originally Posted by Inside View View Post
    I was planning to reuse the existing coil, is that a problem...?
    As long as the r22 systems refrigeration circuit was running clean and the metering device is changed to 410a there would not be a compatibility issue.

    How old is the coil?

  9. #9
    Thanks for the feedback from everyone, the coil is a Goodman slab and I will post the model number as soon as I locate it. Not sure the age, but Goodman sells the same slab to service either r22 or r410a. Be back soon with the info.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Keokuk, IA
    Posts
    5,520
    I've generally heard that it's too hard to flush all the oil out of the small passages of the coil and while you can reuse the lineset, it's best to repalce the coil. I'm not saying it can't be done. But your setting yourself up for early compressor failure from oil comtamination. It's not a good idea... plus the other reasons mentioend above.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northern VA 38 degrees N by 76 degrees W
    Posts
    5,060
    Quote Originally Posted by motoguy128 View Post
    I've generally heard that it's too hard to flush all the oil out of the small passages of the coil and while you can reuse the lineset, it's best to repalce the coil. I'm not saying it can't be done. But your setting yourself up for early compressor failure from oil comtamination. It's not a good idea... plus the other reasons mentioend above.
    As long as the mineral oil in the r22 stem is clean there is no incompatibility issues with the two oils mixing. It is done on a regular basis in refrigeration circuits. What needs to be determined is the condition of the mineral oil. If it has been exposed to high temperatures from condense being dirty, or low charge or burnout then proper flushing is necessary. Age of the evaporator is another deciding factor to consider.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,818
    I would also want a new coil

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    3,577
    Old system probably 10 SEER
    New condenser is minimum 13 SEER.
    Change the AH.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event