19DM Carrier chiller, hot disch temp, & no temp drop

19DM carrier chiller, hasn't run for 3 years, customer now decides he wants it to run....I am new to this jobsite & don't know the history of this machine. Found it with heater off & low on oil, added same & got to 130 degrees, ran purge, put wicking lock tite in bands to stop some leaks, appears to have worked,it holds a vac now.refrg sample shows 40% oil ! When I run machine in controls test vanes & wall move ok.When I operate the machine no temp drop 52 in and out, & 80 in & out, disch gets hot(250), 5# & 12" pressures,The wall is open, pressures,I'm going to distill refrig, any other suggestions....I think I'm going to check rotation monday....

I forgot to add the refig site glasses are full & I see no movement when running machine, I can get the vanes open about 50% & it starts surging,(not unusual) motor cooling feeds fair....

I would pull the freon out, pressure test for additional leaks, vacuum down. put in correct charge. check all temp sensors and condenser tubes. these are picky machines.

Refrigerant sample

chillerdctr- If you had 40% volume of oil in your refrigerant sample you must have taken before running the machine and all the oil was sitting on the bottom of the evaporator by the charging valve. It would take about 55 gallons of oil to equal a 40% concentration. Distill your charge,drain the existing oil and any in the vessels, change All the filters, leak test entire machine, pull the chiller down to at least 750 microns, let it stand 24 hours to verify it's tight, put a fresh oil charge in as determined by your compressor size and charge her up according to spec's. A 19DM that has been idle for that long and obviously wasn't properly mothballed, is bound to have many issues. Get your post count up and put information in your file for others to see.-GEO