Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst 1234567891011 LastLast
Results 92 to 104 of 134

Thread: Fieldpiece

  1. #92
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    Quote Originally Posted by RussellHarju View Post
    Beachtech, thanks for the support! As for the SC77 in the size of the SC53, I'll meet you half way with the SC55 and if you want TRMS then i'll point you to the SC56.
    I had my local dealer order in the 56 for me about 8 months ago. It's is as big as the 77 IMHO and not compact enough for my every day needs. so i roll with a SC46 until i need to ohm something out in a higher scale.
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  2. #93
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Fullerton
    Posts
    770
    Quote Originally Posted by beachtech View Post
    I had my local dealer order in the 56 for me about 8 months ago. It's is as big as the 77 IMHO and not compact enough for my every day needs. so i roll with a SC46 until i need to ohm something out in a higher scale.
    The swivel makes it as tall but it's significantly slimmer. But we'll keep on working on the perfect meter.

  3. #94
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Fullerton
    Posts
    770
    Quote Originally Posted by dreg View Post
    Hey Russell,
    I had brought this to your attention when I first came across this, but never heard anything further from your office.
    I'm in Canada, nothing special with the equipment, typical voltage here 575V. We probably see this reach as high as 620?
    208, 460, 595.. no problem. >600.. O.L. and time to grab another meter.

    Like I said, I loved the meter, but I can't even bother to carry it around because of that.
    We get hardly any requests from Canada on this. Are you working on commercial HVAC and Refrigeration?

  4. #95
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    In a boiler room
    Posts
    7,049
    My SC56 fits nicely in my Veto LC. It has to be the best all-in-one meter I've ever had. Less bulky than the Fluke 902 it replaced.

    I recently bought a SC76 for a backup meter. Got it slightly used on ebay.

    Russell, my SC56 does not auto range down to millivolts. Is this something that can be corrected?

  5. #96
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Fullerton
    Posts
    770
    Quote Originally Posted by chuckcrj View Post
    My SC56 fits nicely in my Veto LC. It has to be the best all-in-one meter I've ever had. Less bulky than the Fluke 902 it replaced.

    I recently bought a SC76 for a backup meter. Got it slightly used on ebay.

    Russell, my SC56 does not auto range down to millivolts. Is this something that can be corrected?
    The SC56 does need to be manual ranged down to millivolts. With the button that looks like a target. It's just how that particular chip works.

  6. #97
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    In a boiler room
    Posts
    7,049
    Quote Originally Posted by RussellHarju View Post
    The SC56 does need to be manual ranged down to millivolts. With the button that looks like a target. It's just how that particular chip works.
    I can do that, but it doesn't really meet the definition of "auto-ranging".

  7. #98
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    33
    Quote Originally Posted by RussellHarju View Post
    We get hardly any requests from Canada on this. Are you working on commercial HVAC and Refrigeration?
    Then there aren't many SC56s here, or they're all going to residential only techs. (I purchased my meter online, couldn't find one locally at the time.)

    Yes, all commercial for me.

  8. #99
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Fullerton
    Posts
    770
    And just to confirm you are talking about HVAC and refrigeration only Commercial units. And you are probably correct that most of our meters do go to residential and light commercial techs in places besides the US.

  9. #100
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    Quote Originally Posted by chuckcrj View Post
    My SC56 fits nicely in my Veto LC. It has to be the best all-in-one meter I've ever had. Less bulky than the Fluke 902 it replaced.

    I recently bought a SC76 for a backup meter. Got it slightly used on ebay.

    Russell, my SC56 does not auto range down to millivolts. Is this something that can be corrected?
    unless am doing a major repair, i only carry a Veto TP3 on a leather tool belt with a drill holster on the opposite side. So in my get up, space is crucial. but nonetheless, i can get %90 of repairs done with only the few tools i carry, and not have to carry around all the extra weight. Also it free's up my hands to carry a ladder or refrigerant or etc. etc. etc.
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  10. #101
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    52
    I'm in the market for a new meter, and right now, the only ones I'm looking at are Fieldpiece. Still haven't quite decided which one to go with.

  11. #102
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Fullerton
    Posts
    770
    Quote Originally Posted by northstarair View Post
    I'm in the market for a new meter, and right now, the only ones I'm looking at are Fieldpiece. Still haven't quite decided which one to go with.
    Here's the meter that's becoming one of our most popular meters. We get tons of great feedback on it.

    http://youtu.be/q71dNMIa-gY

  12. #103
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    20,896
    Quote Originally Posted by northstarair View Post
    I'm in the market for a new meter, and right now, the only ones I'm looking at are Fieldpiece. Still haven't quite decided which one to go with.
    SC 76 or SC 77... everything you could want or need.

    The 77 has a lighted display and does true RMS volts. All other features are on the 76.

    Only thing missing IMO is a magnet to hold it up... however I just clamp the amp-clamp around something and it is right where I can see it.
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service!

    Romans Ch's 5-6-7-8

    2 Chronicles 7:14

  13. #104
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,845
    I already have a fieldpiece amp,temp,volt etc. it just does not do micro volts-DC for flame sensor testing, I wanted something a little smaller, is the Fluke 116 just as good?
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst 1234567891011 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event