Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hmm

Hello all. This is a rental unit so please base your answers on that fact. This is kind of long but I'm new to the AC problems and trying to make sure I don't confuse and provide as much info as possible.

Background:

About a month ago I had my AC unit charged because the tenants complained that the AC was not working. The repair person told me that it was leaking at the coil and another area (forgot the name though). The company said that the unit needs to be replaced and that the indoor equipment was fine. I took a gamble on just recharging the unit and hoping to last through the remainder of the summer. Now, the unit is not working again. So I've decided to have them replace the outdoor unit (Carrier 10 SEER), which he still has one remaining. The company will do the job less what I paid them to charge the system earlier. Below is the question.

Questions 1:

I asked the company if for some reason the indoor unit (handler) went bad will I have to then upgrade the entire unit (indoor and outdoor) to the new 13 SEER standards. The company rep said basically that I would not have any problem with replacing just the indoor unit (handler) and keeping the older 10 SEER outdoor unit. Is this true or not? The way I interpreted his answer is that the 13 or higher SEER indoor unit can be installed (mix match equipment)and it won't affect the operation of the AC unit other than efficiency. Hmmmm!! What do you think?

Question 2:

Another company said that they can install a 13 SEER outdoor unit with the older indoor unit and there'd be no affect on the operation of the AC unit other than efficiency because of the mixmatch SEER. Is this true or false? If this is true should I just install the 13 SEER unit that way if the indoor unit goes bad I'll already have the outdoor unit upgraded and ready for the new standards. Hmmmm!! What do you think?

Thanks for any insight