Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 37
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13

    Honeywell Focuspro 6000 help?

    Hi, I am an hvac tech and recently installed a honeywell focuspro 6000 in a pizza place fhor a rooftop gas fired unit that is does 2 stage cooling as well as 2 stage heat. Something is up with the second stage not kicking in. I don't know if my settings are wrong when I calibrated it or what. I pretty much set the type of system that it called for in the calibration and left everything else alone. I don't know if anyone is real familiar with this on here but let me know things I could try if you are. I would really like to find an answer for these people. Thank you!


    -Brett

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,281
    Thread relocated to "Tech to Tech"


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    12
    Honeywells website has all the manuels. I believe it has to be 2 degrees below setpoiunt for second stage. Is the stat calling on w2 at the unit?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,591
    Quote Originally Posted by blavoie44 View Post
    Hi, I am an hvac tech and recently installed a honeywell focuspro 6000 in a pizza place fhor a rooftop gas fired unit that is does 2 stage cooling as well as 2 stage heat. Something is up with the second stage not kicking in. I don't know if my settings are wrong when I calibrated it or what. I pretty much set the type of system that it called for in the calibration and left everything else alone. I don't know if anyone is real familiar with this on here but let me know things I could try if you are. I would really like to find an answer for these people. Thank you!


    -Brett
    The stat does not respond immediately. There is a deadband that is adjustable in setup. Second stage is brought on with a greater difference from setpoint. I often see a 4 degree difference before second kicks on. Stats with adaptive learning may bring second stage on as a function of time and a lack of temperature change when running first stage.

    Why do you think that the stat is not controlling the unit properly?

    Are you an HVAC tech?
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    Maybe you didn't read the manual well enough . . . . .. Or what do i know, maybe you did ... But if i had a new 6000 2 stage stat not initiating a 2nd stage demand like the back of my hand i know what setting to look for before i do anything else.

    Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using Tapatalk 2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,591
    OP, were you able to ask your service manager about this???
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13
    The second stage is kicking in but shutting off sporadically during extreme temperatures.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13
    And what setting would that be?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    Well that setting is irrelevant at this point if now you say 2nd stage does kick in.

    Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using Tapatalk 2

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Athens, Ohio
    Posts
    1,810
    Quote Originally Posted by chris4 View Post
    Honeywells website has all the manuels. I believe it has to be 2 degrees below setpoiunt for second stage. Is the stat calling on w2 at the unit?
    They have Mexicans on the website?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13
    The second stage does not come on for a long time and the unit will not keep up with the given space. The supplies are pushing out 67 degrees in the eating area and around 70 degrees by in the cooking area. they have now added two more pizza ovens, so now they have 4 ovens, so there is a lot of competition for the unit to overcome. I should be getting a temp. Of of under 60 degrees from these supplies if they are working correctly.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,120
    What makes you think its the thermostat that is the problem?

    Did the unit cool ok before you put the new thermostat on?
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13
    Correct, it did.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event