Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 28
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Waco, Texas, USA
    Posts
    6,153
    Me again....sorry to bug you but is the Trane 16i the old R-22 refrigerant or the new 410a stuff?
    "And remember my sentimental friend......that a heart is not judged by how much you love, but by how much you are loved by others" - Wizard of Oz.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Zelienople, Pa
    Posts
    2,965
    16i only comes in 410A.

    I'd bet the system isn't wired properly and 2nd stage isn't coming on.

  3. #16
    sounds right to me

  4. #17
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Warren, MI
    Posts
    918
    Originally posted by Steve Wiggins
    Many problems start by the homeowner wondering (and often instisting) that their existing equipment is too small. A/C companies are in business to make money and a change out is some pretty good profit. So why argue with the home owner and risk losing the sale to someone else?

    I find more often than not the equipment size is NOT the problem but rather the building envelope is super leaky allowing hot attic air to infiltrate the home.

    I just found the worse case of all times yesterday. The HO had little short "knee walls" extending up past his normal walls to create a raised ceiling effect. Looked real nice from below but when I shot my laser guided heat gun up at the corner of where the ceiling and wall meet I read 95F where I normally read in the low 80's at most. Went up in the attic to find ZERO batt insulation in the wall cavity and not only that there was no blocking inside the wall cavity. This allowed air to pass freely down most of the interior walls of the home including the return air wall.

    I first noticed this by feeling the interior wall above the return grille & it was HOT to the touch!

    This sounds like a case of misdiagnosis and a a/c guy letting the customer and greed influence his decision.

    Reality is if the building envelope's air and R-value leaks were addressed the original equipment was probably OVERSIZED instead of undersized
    The HO replaced a 4 ton which was working till it died with 5 ton suggested by the contractor. The HO didn't insist on the larger unit at all.
    Bill

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Memphis
    Posts
    2,502

    Re: Re: horrible performance

    Originally posted by RoBoTeq
    Originally posted by cool tech 64
    is you duct work sized properly? sounds like you duct is oversized for the new more efficient unit
    WHAT!!!!

    OK....I'm calm....what do you mean by this statement? What data supports this statement? If the ducting is too large (not really a rational statement) for the new 5 ton system, what was it like for the old 4 ton system?
    I had to look at that post twice when i was reading too. I wandered how someone would think its oversized for the 5 ton but not the old 4 ton. lol
    Life is like a jar of jalapenos. What you do today might burn your ass tomorrow.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Derby City
    Posts
    3,964
    Robo: I noticed the same thing you did. But then I realized the missing 'professional' by his name. That explains it. Can you imagine putting together a bunch of DIYs and having them decide and install each others HVAC systems!! LMAO. All the best, John.
    Everyone has a purpose in life..........even if it's to be a bad example.

    Seek first to understand, before seeking to be understood.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1
    The XL16i system is extremely sensitive to having the proper charge. The installer must use proper charging techniques (subcooling).

  8. #21
    The techs are out here doing a thorough check. Any thing in particular I should have them look for or suggest?

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2,597
    Originally posted by rolloatm76
    The techs are out here doing a thorough check. Any thing in particular I should have them look for or suggest?
    proper airflow, not diagnosed by a hand at a register. have them tell you how many cfm's of air you are moving.

    cfm= cubic feet per minute.

    also, ask the static pressure of the duct system, it may not be able to handle the approx 2000 cfm's necessary for a 5 ton system.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    424
    Chances are your ductwork was to small for a 4 ton system let alone a 5 ton system. The variable speed will help but at what cost? Ask them to take static reading of your system then post results.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    1,634

    Re: horrible performance

    Originally posted by cool tech 64
    is you duct work sized properly? sounds like you duct is oversized for the new more efficient unit
    I hear this arguement quite a bit...but I have to ask... what happens when people install a 2-stage system and you're running on low? Within reason, "oversized" ductwork isn't a problem. Undersized definitely will be.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    No. CAlifornia
    Posts
    5
    have them check the thermostat setup for 2 stage operation. Also check that the low voltage wiring is connected using the wiring diagram in the condenser. The B/K wire needs to be connected not the Y2 ant the furnace or air handler

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    garland, texas
    Posts
    671
    The "Techs" are there at 5pm on Friday afternoon, its 103 outside, to thoroughly check something they didn't get right the first time. All those guys want to do is find the fast fix so they can go cash their checks and drink a few beers.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event