Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: York ycav

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    northwest connecticut
    Posts
    58

    York ycav

    Getting a low dc bus pre- charge voltage. I have read some of the troubleshooting for this drive and it appears it could be a problem with the scr's not firing or a shorted capacitor. Anyone with any first hand experience with this paticular issue I would love to hear from you ,Thank you!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the world.
    Posts
    1,577
    It's very possible something is shorted but I can tell you that the YCAV doesn't have any SCR's it is a VFD drive very complex piece of equipment lots of things that could go wrong and you could hurt yourself or someone else if you don't understand the principles behind the technology.
    Arguing with your Boss is like wrestling with a pig in
    mud.
    After a while you realize that while you are getting
    dirty, the pig is actually enjoying it.

    It is not exactly cheating, I prefer to consider it
    creative problem solving.

    25 years ago we had Bob Hope , Steve Jobs , and Johnny Cash today we have no Hope no Jobs and no Cash !
    I can fix broke but i can't fix stupid !

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    northwest connecticut
    Posts
    58
    scr diode modules as part of their "drive" yes they do, just looking for a little input from someone who has more experience than me on this paticular machine, or maybe actually run across this very same issue !!! I am not a diy guy been in the service buisness for 30 years.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Northwest Louisiana
    Posts
    267
    Do you have service manual on drive?
    A LITTLE BIT OF STUPID GOES A LONG WAY!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    northwest connecticut
    Posts
    58
    No, i do not have a manual for the drive itself!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the world.
    Posts
    1,577
    Quote Originally Posted by hvac1966 View Post
    scr diode modules as part of their "drive" yes they do, just looking for a little input from someone who has more experience than me on this paticular machine, or maybe actually run across this very same issue !!! I am not a diy guy been in the service buisness for 30 years.
    They are structurally different and operate differently. In an SCR, operating off of a direct current source, once turned on by a control signal the device will stay on if the control signal is removed. With an IGBT the device turns off when the control signal is removed. Just thought I would send you this so you can see the difference between the two.
    Arguing with your Boss is like wrestling with a pig in
    mud.
    After a while you realize that while you are getting
    dirty, the pig is actually enjoying it.

    It is not exactly cheating, I prefer to consider it
    creative problem solving.

    25 years ago we had Bob Hope , Steve Jobs , and Johnny Cash today we have no Hope no Jobs and no Cash !
    I can fix broke but i can't fix stupid !

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Northwest Louisiana
    Posts
    267
    Post email address
    A LITTLE BIT OF STUPID GOES A LONG WAY!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    northwest connecticut
    Posts
    58

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Northwest Louisiana
    Posts
    267
    I am at the airport picking up oil pump for important customer, when I get home I'll send you an email.
    A LITTLE BIT OF STUPID GOES A LONG WAY!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    northwest connecticut
    Posts
    58
    Thanks !!!!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    148
    I had this problem two weeks ago. Luckily I had two chillers with one of them runable. Had to result to part swapping for two of the boards. My problem ended up being the SCR trigger board which is pretty expensive. Replaced it and it's running great.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    northwest connecticut
    Posts
    58
    Thank you very much , I apppreciate you sharing this info it makes the troubleshooting process alot easier !!!!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event