Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    central illinois
    Posts
    12

    Confused Goodman 1.5 ton split system pressure issue

    Vacuumed system properly and charged system. Started out with high pressure readings on high and low side. Removed refrigerant and brought high side pressure down to 288 psig @ 93 degrees Fahrenheit saturated liquid temperature right on the money according to Goodman P/T chart. Problem low side pressure high at 102 psig @ 32 degrees Fahrenheit saturated suction temperature and superheat high at around 55 degrees Fahrenheit. Outside ambient temperature 90 degrees Fahrenheit. Did I just not recover enough refrigerant to bring low side pressure and temperature down? Appreciate any help thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    South
    Posts
    580
    So what are you doing? new installation? What metering device? I'm guessing it's not new if you charged the system since it would come with a charge in the cond unit.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    central illinois
    Posts
    12
    An existing system had a leak at solder joint, recovered charge, fixed leak, vacuumed and recharged. Fixed orifice.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    South
    Posts
    580
    I thought it was a 410a system at first. I'd weight the nameplate charge in and go from there. What you've got now looks like an overcharge. Did you run it before you recovered it?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3,304
    did you happen to charge the system soon after hosing down the condenser to clean it off ?

    you cant charge up a system while its still wet.

    sounds overcharged , take some more out

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    central illinois
    Posts
    12
    Customer complaint was a/c running a lot and not cooling house. Ran unit checked temperature at indoor registers. Air temps high so decided to do a quick leak check on solder joints inside at coil and outside at condenser because they looked sloppily brazed and found leak at one of the joints so never put gauges on system and it is 410a. Charged it according to amount of charge specified in Goodman specs for condenser, coil and lineset length.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,761
    what chart are you using??
    pressures look low for 410 but it sounds like your chart is giving 22 temps and pressures.....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    South
    Posts
    580
    Ok since it's 410a it's undercharged. Your pressures could end up at 325 and 125. I'm not sure why you think they are high at 288 and 103.

    You sure you're not putting 410 in an r22 system?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,586
    I think your using a R22 mentality on a R410A system. Ignore pressure, and use sat temp.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event