Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Goodyear, AZ
    Posts
    50

    New Goodman, bad compressor

    Changing out a bad compressor today on a Goodman 410 split system. Low side running at around 150psi / 50 sat temp with about 8 superheated. High side 425psi/130 sat temp with 10 subcooling. Brand new system, pullin my hair out. Was messing with the txv , thinking the evap is flooded trying to get the sat temp/pressure lower. Finally tried to pump down system to check comp. pressure started to go down then " valves" gave out and pressure went back up. Bad compressor right? Not pulling the low side down enough?
    I have another client, same system having same problem. Anybody running into some bad goodmans?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    South
    Posts
    580
    Sounds like an overcharge and maybe something going on with the metering device.

    Thats based on the information you provided, keep in mind I'm not there and never have been.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    59
    sounds like overcharge. I would recover what the compressor cant pump down, vacuum open valves and try one more time... Goodmans come precharged and they have enough to get system running right with about 15' of line set depending on the size. Good luck!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Burlington , Mass
    Posts
    463
    Sounds like an overcharged unit. When it cant pump down fully, the safety valve in the compressor opens up. Recover some gas and start over. Then diagnose problems.
    I'll be there when I get there and not a minute later

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,512
    Have you checked your temp split

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    South
    Posts
    580
    Does it have a micro channel coil?
    What do you mean buy messing with the TXV?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    847
    Not enough info
    What ambient temp?
    IDWB.
    150 psi is normal on high indoor temp.
    Pump down not recommended on checking comp specially a scroll

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    Posts
    181
    Did a Goodman 13seer with no Hi or Low pressure switches yesterday.., start up over 600 psi hi side. Compressor never even rattled,recovered some 410,worked great!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Not enough info, at the lease we need the outdoor temperature, and the dry bulb and wet bulb temperatures of the indoor air.

    Your pressures, SH and SC look pretty normal for an R-410a system on a 105+ day with a moderate indoor load.

    If the refrigerant lines have much length to them, you won't be able to pump the system down without removing some refrigerant, especially with Goodmana units that have the "smart coil" condenser with the small tubing.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    57
    I was always told not to pump down the scrolls. I usually pump it down some and recover the rest

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    2,853
    Every Goodman 410A unit I've put in has been overcharged.
    I just did a 4 ton system with an 85 ft. lineset & I didn't have to add an ounce of gas. I should have needed about 3 lbs. or so but all the numbers were perfect right out of the box. I'm starting to think that maybe their numbers that are stamped on the units are wrong. Even their dry 22 units seem to take less than what is stamped on the units.
    Gary
    -----------
    http://www.oceanhvac.com
    An engineer designs what he would never work on.
    A technician works on what he would never design.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    93
    We've had many Goodman units come from the factory overcharged. And undercharged, for that matter. One unit in particular, I weighed out 27+lbs on a ~18lbs unit. Oh, Goodman.

    To the OP, what's the word?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Peoria IL
    Posts
    72
    its that dam metric system pounds kilos oz grams

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event