Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    In the sticks,Northern Idaho
    Posts
    339

    This one nearly killed me today

    Nothing like a plasma ball to start your day.......

    Name:  20120705_082556.jpg
Views: 1112
Size:  41.6 KB

    Name:  20120705_083352.jpg
Views: 1029
Size:  44.6 KB

    Name:  20120705_083403.jpg
Views: 995
Size:  43.7 KB

    Name:  20120705_083417.jpg
Views: 1018
Size:  39.1 KB

    Name:  20120705_083435.jpg
Views: 997
Size:  27.3 KB

    I guess it's just too hard to use some flex. Mgr. says after the big BOOM, yeah, we've been resetting the breaker a lot. Couldn't have told me that beforehand.
    "The trouble with the world is the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent full of doubt" -Bertrand Russell

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    east kansas
    Posts
    8,032
    So did it take long to find the leaks?
    Beware of advice given by some guy on the Internet.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,635
    I generally don't turn power off before taking doors off, one of these days it's going screw me up.

    someday I'm going to get a pocket ticker
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    where it's nice and warm
    Posts
    274
    This is why I agree with the code that require the disconnects cannot be attached to the unit. This way incoming power lines will not pass through the units.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,915
    Quote Originally Posted by ararams View Post
    This is why I agree with the code that require the disconnects cannot be attached to the unit. This way incoming power lines will not pass through the units.
    What code prohibits having the disconnect mounted to the unit?
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW AR
    Posts
    2,478
    Even if installed on the unit, power first comes into the disconnect, then into the unit.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    va
    Posts
    800
    Quote Originally Posted by ar_hvac_man View Post
    Even if installed on the unit, power first comes into the disconnect, then into the unit.
    Not always, I've seen the feed come in one side of the unit and the disconnect on the other. Not proper of course!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Raleigh N.C.
    Posts
    278
    Sparky say-"Just get the power landed on the unit,don't give a damn after that, I got my check."
    Damn phosgene

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    329
    No grommet on that hole. Even a hacker would put a few wraps of electrical tape on that wire.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    155
    I see this all the time, we installed a bunch of units at a power park and our star employee(haha) was prepping everything at the shop and I asked him if he was going to run the high voltage in flex from the disconnect to the electrical panel and he stearnly said HELL NO, WHY? I just walked away laughing.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    where it's nice and warm
    Posts
    274
    Quote Originally Posted by mark beiser View Post
    What code prohibits having the disconnect mounted to the unit?
    Galveston has an amendment where you cannot mount disconnects on the units.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Woodbridge Twp, NJ
    Posts
    1,308
    Quote Originally Posted by dudeabides View Post
    No grommet on that hole.
    Thats what i noticed. I keep a pack of the 1/2" and 3/4' grommets in my bag for just an occasion.
    Every customer you take for granted today will be someone else's tomorrow.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Posts
    5,047
    Quote Originally Posted by ararams View Post
    This is why I agree with the code that require the disconnects cannot be attached to the unit. This way incoming power lines will not pass through the units.
    Thats about 50% of packaged rooftops in cincinnati.
    "Better tell the sandman to stay away, because we're gonna be workin on this one all night."

    "Dude, you need more than 2 wires to a condenser to run a 2 stage heatpump."

    "Just get it done son."

    Dad adjusted

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event