Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

manitowac ice maker

I went back to school for HVAC residential and im a little new to refrigeration and I would greatly appreciate some help. Most of the stuff ive worked on has been in meat packing plants on large scale freon or ammonia and only for a short period of time. Small systems are kicking my .

Im working on a Manitowac Q series QY0454a Ice machine. Originally the customer cleaned the unit and it wouldnt make any ice. Ambient air was around 80, head was at 200 and low was 25. Noticed the the high side schrader valve leaked so I added 2 oz, Manitowac rep suggested adding some to see if it would make ice. It did. Total charge on unit is 24 oz 404a. I pulled the charge, installed a new valve along with a filter drier. Started unit up and now my pressures are steady around 290 and 60. Called manitowac again and they said my pressures should be around 330 and 35 after things settle down. Said the TXV was flooding the evaporator. I notice the compressor was starting to sweat also. what could I have done to trouble shoot this correctly and figure this out on my own.

Thanks guys

The first thing I thought afterwards was to check the incoming temp on the evaporator and check the subcooling... and thats great and all but where would I find anything on what the proper subcooling is suppose to be set at.

The mani handbook.

What you did was pretty good. Ice machines get a whole lot easier as you go along.

temp in and temp out of the evap would have pointed you to the txv problem. I am not positive but it should be around five to seven degrees.

Read this forum on mani's. there are tons of problems that people run into and many times you will run into those same problems. I am not sure if you get get the pdf, never mind,, found it.

http://www.manitowocice.com/docs/upl...Q_Model_sm.pdf