Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    18
    my programmable stat could adjust the amount of cycles per hour, I have it set in the winter so that it cycles enough per hour that it'll stay on low fire. but I suppose it's less efficient on my a/c if i do the same for it. any opinions on this? thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    In cooling it may provide better humidity control running longer on first stage.

    2 stage A/C's are designed for long run times in first stage.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    18

    only my furnace is 2 stage, my a/c is single...

    so, i guess if it runs longer periods; i'll get more dehumidifying value, as well save on the higher amps of the comp. starting up.?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913

    Re: only my furnace is 2 stage, my a/c is single...

    Originally posted by selim
    so, i guess if it runs longer periods; i'll get more dehumidifying value, as well save on the higher amps of the comp. starting up.?

    Yes.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    If your furnace has a VS blower, a humidistat can be added to control humidity, and allow for higher air flow when the humidity is down.
    Giving you a higher sesible capacity once the RH level is reached.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Huntsville,AL
    Posts
    4,125
    most rotating machinery rated for not more than 4 starts/h -- check with the mfgr of your compressor --
    harvest rainwater,make SHADE,R75/50/30= roof/wall/floor, use HVAC mastic,caulk all wall seams!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    18

    thanks guys n/p

    ...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,304
    Sel, Do you have a two stage t-stat?


    You want long run time not, short ones.. 3CPH is good on both heating and cooling.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    18
    just a single stage, haven't considered the 2 stage yet. just put in the a/c. but you got me thinking, wouldn't be a bad toy.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,304
    A two stage stat will be MUCH better and more comfort in the winter.. It will advoid the furnace going into 2nd stage on a timer. The stat will only run 2nd as needed.

    Make sure you have a dealer do the t-stat, that way they can set the board up to a two stage stat vs a timer.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event