Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058

    I bought a Turbo Torch flow regulator

    And the scale is 10 psi to 75 psi.

    I flow at 2 psi...how the hell you supposed to read 2 psi when the smallest graduation is only 10 psi?

    Do they make flow regulators that are graduated in 5 psi increments?

    And since i am using Dry Co2 my regulator hose connection in on the bottom of the regulator...my flow reg would need a flare 90* to mount up right.

    Am I on the right track wit the 90* flare or is there a better way?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    24,995
    Quote Originally Posted by hvaclover
    And the scale is 10 psi to 75 psi.

    I flow at 2 psi...how the hell you supposed to read 2 psi when the smallest graduation is only 10 psi?

    Do they make flow regulators that are graduated in 5 psi increments?

    And since i am using Dry Co2 my regulator hose connection in on the bottom of the regulator...my flow reg would need a flare 90* to mount up right.

    Am I on the right track wit the 90* flare or is there a better way?
    Set the reg with yer fancy-pants SuperMAN gauge....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    823
    Quote Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
    And the scale is 10 psi to 75 psi.

    I flow at 2 psi...how the hell you supposed to read 2 psi when the smallest graduation is only 10 psi?

    Do they make flow regulators that are graduated in 5 psi increments?

    And since i am using Dry Co2 my regulator hose connection in on the bottom of the regulator...my flow reg would need a flare 90* to mount up right.

    Am I on the right track wit the 90* flare or is there a better way?
    I'm using a swagelock needle valve with a regulator on one of my rigs. Still waiting on John Stone for my Turbo flow meter. Must be why they had them for $30, they're worthless.

    90 degree flare should do the trick.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    Set the reg with yer fancy-pants SuperMAN gauge....
    I would not dream of putting CO2 tru ANY manifold.

    Except maybe a DIGGI QUEEN....can I borrow yours JP?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    I found a low resolution flow meter...but it's for "GROWING" wacky-weed lol!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    24,995
    Quote Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
    I would not dream of putting CO2 tru ANY manifold.

    Except maybe a DIGGI QUEEN....can I borrow yours JP?
    I can understand your reluctance to introduce a compound like that to such a fragile instrument as your SMAN.

    You're welcome to use my DC anytime you're around, but I'll never part with my DC.


    On a serious note, WHY NOT?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    I can understand your reluctance to introduce a compound like that to such a fragile instrument as your SMAN.

    You're welcome to use my DC anytime you're around, but I'll never part with my DC.


    On a serious note, WHY NOT?
    Cause I blew up a lot of Compound gauges in the past...over pressure.

    Just won't make that mistake again.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,825
    Quote Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
    And the scale is 10 psi to 75 psi.

    I flow at 2 psi...how the hell you supposed to read 2 psi when the smallest graduation is only 10 psi?

    Do they make flow regulators that are graduated in 5 psi increments?

    And since i am using Dry Co2 my regulator hose connection in on the bottom of the regulator...my flow reg would need a flare 90* to mount up right.

    Am I on the right track wit the 90* flare or is there a better way?
    I also just bought a turbotorch flowmeter, but mine dont have PSI it has SCFM (standard cubic feet per Min). I was told to run it about 5 SCFM

    http://www.thermadyne.com/turbotorch...odID=0386-0849

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Yeah but your using Nitro...I am using Dry Co2....2 scfm is standard for co2.

    You get pinholes if you use a higher flow rate.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    If your flow meter reads in PSI, you bought the wrong kind of meter...
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    las vegas
    Posts
    1,505
    Quote Originally Posted by AC5096 View Post
    I'm using a swagelock needle valve with a regulator on one of my rigs. Still waiting on John Stone for my Turbo flow meter. Must be why they had them for $30, they're worthless.

    90 degree flare should do the trick.
    the on from j stone is great when you get the correct fittings to keep it up rite.
    you dont need to run in psi checked mine against my testo 510 earlier & im
    purging at 7 in. w,c. could probably even go lower. just get the
    ball floating & your ok. on my mig machine i only run 5 psi for a shield &
    with argon it is plenty.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by mark beiser View Post
    If your flow meter reads in PSI, you bought the wrong kind of meter...
    It reads in SCFM....

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    823
    Quote Originally Posted by marvin View Post
    the on from j stone is great when you get the correct fittings to keep it up rite.
    you dont need to run in psi checked mine against my testo 510 earlier & im
    purging at 7 in. w,c. could probably even go lower. just get the
    ball floating & your ok. on my mig machine i only run 5 psi for a shield &
    with argon it is plenty.
    I read somewhere around 3 scfm. I guess I'll find out if I ever get one. Johnstone has them on backorder.

    My Air Products regulator has the outlet a 3 O'clock. I shouldn't need any extra fittings to keep it upright.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event