Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Denver/Boulder
    Posts
    2,416

    Seeking guidance from the Digicool Zombie Army

    I need to order a AK-900 and I need to nail down what I should be doing with the temp probes.

    I have followed the digi cools over the years and now I'm diving in. What is the current consensus on the probes? what should I get?

    I do resi so 1 1/8" is the largest I normally get. The probe that I've liked the best over the years is the Fluke 80pk-8. I like compact, durable tools, preferably ones that integrate with the meter they work with. yes, I know- I'm asking too much!

    so... what do I order?

    thanks for the input!
    What lies behind us and what lies before us are small matters compared to what lies within us.


    Two pressures, four temperatures = SUCCESS!


    Boulder Heating Contractor


    For Consumers:

    For HVACR Professionals:


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,924
    Brrrrraaaaaiiiiiinsssss!!!!!!






    Anyway, I'd look at the sensors that have the stretchy velcro on them.

    Make sure you don't just leave them hooked to the unit.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Jeez...I started something when I coined the term "Diggi Zombie Army".


    maybe I Should sell T-shirts that say "I have Digitally Zombified".

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    Brrrrraaaaaiiiiiinsssss!!!!!!






    Anyway, I'd look at the sensors that have the stretchy velcro on them.

    Make sure you don't just leave them hooked to the unit.
    One of my favorite movies...lol

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    481
    I too am used to the small, durable, easy to use 80pk-8 (hint hint Doug).

    The strap thing seemed like a pain and the clamps available from DC diddn't seem worth the coin, so I made my own. Others have done the same and it really sucks to have to fabricate parts for a new tool but at least you get what you want in the end.

    Here's what I came up with,
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    GEORGIA
    Posts
    1,532
    I'm finally ready to make the leap.......

    The AK900 seems to be the ticket, but, I thought that the temp. clamp issues would be resolved by now.....

    I realize that a quality clamp would be expensive but so are the Cooper and the Fluke 80PK-8....


    Am I the only one? Am I missing something?
    "Value our Differences"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    442
    I'm going to be making the Digi-cool leap in the next week or two. Can hardly wait till I can order the AK900.
    When you do a job, Always make it easier for the next guy, because you may be the next guy working on it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Tracy,California
    Posts
    66
    I like the new stretch velcro sensors there easy to use and feel durable. Only time will till just started using these sensors but so far so good.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Tom Price, Western Australia
    Posts
    6
    I have the new velcro stretchy sensors & they work well for me on automotive A/C with the AK900
    Cheers - Leigh

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bristol NH
    Posts
    229
    That is cool!

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk 2

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Denver/Boulder
    Posts
    2,416
    Is there any difference in lead length or whatever from one setup to the other?

    I tend to dislike the thought of strapping up pipes with velcro every time I hook up to a system even though that would clearly be the most compact setup.
    What lies behind us and what lies before us are small matters compared to what lies within us.


    Two pressures, four temperatures = SUCCESS!


    Boulder Heating Contractor


    For Consumers:

    For HVACR Professionals:


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    21,719
    My approach was/is to rebuild the scissor clamps (I do resi only, rarely see 1-1/8 BTW)... I took a twofold approach:

    One; in the handle of the scissor clamp, there is a plate you can remove and splice in a more durable wire to the thin wire to the sensor.

    Two; about 6 ft of whatever wire you choose and some kind of break-away connector at the DC head. Folks can use audio plugs, computer plugs, whatever you like.

    My approach: Buy 2-6 ft audio cables with male on one end and female on the other... cut about 6" wire off the female end and mount this to the head. Take the other (longer) wire and splice into the clamp handle. I would use DIFFERENT color audio cables, so connecting the proper cable is not rocket-science.

    Works FINE for me.

    I am waiting for Doug to come out with the wireless unit... will resolve this mess... hint, hint, hint Doug.
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service!

    Romans Ch's 5-6-7-8

    2 Chronicles 7:14

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event