Hybrid View

harmon 300i insert?

I have limited knowledge when it comes to wood units and we just bought a huge house with a brick fireplace/mantel. It basically is a wide opening with a rack in the bottom to stack the wood on.

I understand that a wood insert would make buring wood much more safe and efficient. Anybody have experience with the Harmon 300i?? Looks like a great unit and I can open it for the "real" experience of buring wood on occasion. But, I see stoves on-line for much cheaper, is there a better model/brand that I should be looking at?

I do prefer to spend the money one time on quality equipment.

any feedback would be great!!

thanks guys.

Cool

Harman is one of the best brands in both design and quality. Generally, with stoves, you get what you pay for.

In the case with a wood insert, you'll need an NFPA 211- Level II inspection first, which will guide you in what you can install and what it will take but plan on installing a listed insulated stainless steel liner at minimum and possibly floor and mantel protection as well.

If you have a problem with a stove purchased from an online source, who are you going to contact for service or tech support. Also be aware many brands will void their warranties if the stove is sold over the Internet or not through one of their dealers.

HTH

Hearthman -

I understand fully on the "you get what you pay for" and would prefer to spend more on the front end to have less issues down the line.

Thanks for the reply. I am trying to post a couple pics of the existing for guidance.

The house has a block/brick chimney up the exterior with a ceramic tile liner. And the added stainless liner. Would we still need the insulated liner? Does the insulation prevent condensation or is it spec 'ed for another reason?

When looking at the pics - does the Harmon seem like the correct choice? Or is their another alternative.
    Attached Images Attached Images