Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 55
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Rising Sun, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    110
    yeah i just think its been operator error..sounds like the temp might just be dipping a lil lower than the tstat so the heats comin on to satisfy

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    southeast u.s.
    Posts
    71
    ...and I'm guessing the stat isn't set up for humidity control??

  3. #29
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    South
    Posts
    580
    It's set up as basic as it gets, he didn't even want the clock on the display.

    It's not set up for auto changeover.
    It's not set up for humidity control.

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    southeast u.s.
    Posts
    71
    ... just an outside thought ...

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    276
    Do you have any data logging equipment? I would set up current sensing relays on the condensing unit and a temp sensor at one of the grills, the t-stat and the return. Than you would know if the thing is even running, calling.

    Sounds like this guy might be losing his mind. Why always at 2am-5am? Who knows he could be sleep walking and touching his t-stat.

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Beatrice, NE
    Posts
    2,188
    When does the sprinkler run? If you have sprinkler system that is spraying right onto the coil it could cool it down enough to lower the head down to where there is little presure drop across the expansion device, then after the sprinkler shuts off and it dries out it starts to work agian. I ran into this once with a walking sprinkler.

  7. #33
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    South
    Posts
    580
    Quote Originally Posted by RichR View Post
    Do you have any data logging equipment? I would set up current sensing relays on the condensing unit and a temp sensor at one of the grills, the t-stat and the return. Than you would know if the thing is even running, calling.

    Sounds like this guy might be losing his mind. Why always at 2am-5am? Who knows he could be sleep walking and touching his t-stat.
    The cond unit has current sensing abilities on the comp and fan. I set a code on one by connecting a widowmaker on the line side to power a vacuum. The code read inconsistant line voltage. This guy hasn't had a code recently, the first time I went it did have a code 33, short cycling. It has a time delay built into the t-stat so I can't see him causing that. Unless he was playing with the float switch.

  8. #34
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    South
    Posts
    580
    Quote Originally Posted by kls-ccc View Post
    When does the sprinkler run? If you have sprinkler system that is spraying right onto the coil it could cool it down enough to lower th ehead downot where thereis little presure drop across the expansion device, then after the sprinkler shuts off andit fries out it strats to work agian. I ran into this once with a walking sprinkler.
    Good point. I'll check to see if he has one.

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    355

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by truck12 View Post
    Sounds like he needs a new low voltage wire. There is a device in the cond unit that was added. It's a black plastic box and a transformer. Forgot what it's called.
    It's used on systems that don't have enough conductors going out and this makes it work. I was told this by one of our guys. I've never used one, I've always found a way to get the right wire run. This thing has 20 wire nuts on the low voltage alone.
    So its not a heatpump, but you have 20 wire nuts for low voltage? Thats a new one on me.

  10. #36
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    South
    Posts
    580
    Quote Originally Posted by millertime77 View Post
    So its not a heatpump, but you have 20 wire nuts for low voltage? Thats a new one on me.
    Thats new to you?
    Ok I'll admit I didn't count them. It's a four wire cond unit, theres a splice in the line chase, thats eight. Following me so far?

    Then you've got the four from outside at the a/h and five from the thermostat, and one for the float switch.

    That should be 14 at least, in theory, but I didn't count them.

    My guess off the top of my head was six off.

    What don't you get about that?

    Work in this trade a few more years, you're going to find odd stuff thats not correct but works. Someday situations like this will no longer be NEW to you.

  11. #37
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    South
    Posts
    580
    Ok I read your 'about me' 1st year hvac apprentice at on-line school called hvac/redu.net
    That explains that.

  12. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Burlington , Mass
    Posts
    470
    Has an energy saving outdoor tstat thats not wired right. Its connected to the fan, thats why the condensor stays running. LOL
    I'll be there when I get there and not a minute later

  13. #39
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    South
    Posts
    580
    Quote Originally Posted by BURL-REF View Post
    Has an energy saving outdoor tstat thats not wired right. Its connected to the fan, thats why the condensor stays running. LOL
    Yea, that and the paint color is wrong, doesn't match the house.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event