Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 24
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Bennington, Vermont U.S.A.
    Posts
    13,864
    Post Likes
    I just got a request from an architect for a design/build project. He calls for a 7.5 ton unit for the second floor.

    This is for a residence. Around here you can not get 3 ph. in a residence no matter how rich and fameous you are.
    So of course I am going to have to design a 4ton and a 3.5 ton systems for this house.

    Is there any where in the country or the world were the power company allows 3phase in a residence?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    IN THE CRAWL SPACE
    Posts
    1,536
    Post Likes
    I've only seen 1 house with it and they have a 7.5 ton a/c.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ft.Worth,Tx
    Posts
    4,772
    Post Likes

    Question Not a problem here in Texas..

    There are alot of three phase systems on splits and package unit here in Texas.

    If this is a new home then he should be able to have electrician put sub-panel for 3 phase and seperate line brought in.Might cost some extra, but if you got the money anything is possible.
    'Life begins with the journey each day'

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    469
    Post Likes
    Pretty common in rural Kentucky (because of the coal mines)
    My bro in law has 3 phase in his shed/workshop

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,400
    Post Likes
    There's an entire subdivision here on 3 phase.
    It's smack dab in the middle of Tyler, Tx, about two miles from the Trane, resi/light commercial outdoor unit plant. It's only about three from Carrier's rooftop plant.

    I wonder if there's a connection?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hell Hole Swamp
    Posts
    4,187
    Post Likes
    There is one older subdivision here that has 3 phase, I went on one call where one of the legs was dead, so I called the power company for the customer, had to argue with the guy over the fact it was 3 phase power, even they didnt know they had residential customers with 3 phase power

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Coastal Georgia
    Posts
    34,902
    Post Likes
    Originally posted by benncool
    I just got a request from an architect for a design/build project. He calls for a 7.5 ton unit for the second floor.

    This is for a residence. Around here you can not get 3 ph. in a residence no matter how rich and fameous you are.
    So of course I am going to have to design a 4ton and a 3.5 ton systems for this house.

    Is there any where in the country or the world were the power company allows 3phase in a residence?
    Yes, here but I don't think on new stuff.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    451
    Post Likes
    You do have an odd option that you could consider. A phase converter from say http://www.phaseconverter.com. With a little bit of controls that would make the phase converter start before the AC does, it could work.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    4,880
    Post Likes
    Put it on a freq drive, it is a good way to convert to three phase.
    A Diamond is just a piece of coal, that made good under pressure!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    489
    Post Likes
    There's always the "rectify to DC, invert to 3 phase AC" solution. But at the power levels you're dealing with, that's probably going to cost more than you like. (However, if you price the parts, it'll probably cost less than you expect. The design is tricky, though!)

    Just use the 4 ton and 3.5 ton units as you say. That'll also provide a little fault tolerance. If you want to do some complex design, make a custom unit that has a 2.5 ton compressor and 5 ton compressor. Designed properly, you'll get 3 different cooling levels. But using ready made 4 ton and 3.5 ton systems will give multi-zone capability.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,473
    Post Likes
    Part of Phoenix has 3 phase power in the older residential homes.


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    11,808
    Post Likes
    Well if Mr and Mrs Howell have at least a 75 kVA load, they could get three phase down here

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    11,808
    Post Likes
    Originally posted by benncool
    I just got a request from an architect for a design/build project. He calls for a 7.5 ton unit for the second floor.

    This is for a residence. Around here you can not get 3 ph. in a residence no matter how rich and fameous you are.
    So of course I am going to have to design a 4ton and a 3.5 ton systems for this house.

    Is there any where in the country or the world were the power company allows 3phase in a residence?
    Best way to zone anyways

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.
Quality Home Comfort Awards